Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
What is a database?
Databases are collections of articles and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.
All of the databases in this discipline can be found in our Engineering and Technology databases section.
Compendex | 1884-present |
Contents/Info: Compendex® is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Compendex contains over 8 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications. Coverage is from 1969 to present and the database is updated weekly. Combined with the Engineering Index Backfile, the database includes over 9.7 million records and spans back to 1884.
Content/Info: 1,100+ scholarly journals in engineering, science, and social science disciplines.
Materials Science & Engineering Collection (Proquest)
Contents/Info: The ProQuest Engineering Collection contains engineering related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the CSA Engineering Research Database,a comprehensive index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations.
Contains earth science references and the index terms that describe them. Indexes many journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, and reports.
IEEE Xplore:IEEE/IEL Digital Library
Contents/Info: IEEE/Institution of Engineering and Technology Journals, Conference Proceedings, and Standards from 1988 to the present.
Oceanic Abstracts is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. The journal has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans.
Web of Science
Contents/Info: Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
MarinLit is a database dedicated to marine natural products research. It includes comprehensive information on relevant published articles and compounds, as well as dereplication tools based on experimental and predicted data.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines
Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.
Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.
RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies."