LibGuides: English: Articles

Databases are great sources for finding information for your research paper. In databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles, news articles, videos, and more for your research. Databases pull their information from a variety of Journals and other sources and compile it so that it is more easily found by the researcher. It is important to note that not any one database contains all the information a researcher needs, so be sure to check across several databases when searching for information.

What are the differences between Databases and Journals?

An Electronic Journal (or E-journal) is a traditional journal that is in an electronic format; either because it was originally created that way, or because someone took a print journal article and scanned it to make it available electronically.

A Database is what is created when a large number of electronic journals are put in one place and a search interface (usually a search box) is added to help find what you need. Both databases and electronic journals can be subject specific. When you have a database that only has the title or abstract, but not the full text, it is usually referred to as an Index.

English Databases

Below is a list of databases that are specific to English and Literature. Please note that this is not a comprehensive list but rather a starting point. A full list of Literature & Literary Criticism Databases can be found here.

ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
This database replaces Literature Online (LION). ProQuest One Literature contains a large amount of primary works, including rare texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theater performances, and author readings. In addition, there are citations from thousands of journals, monographs, and dissertations.
Other sources, such as book reviews and criticism, are found in interdisciplinary publications ranging from the humanities to history, thus providing diverse, global perspectives in sources from all over the world, the majority being full-text.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Sources combines Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers, and Twayne's Authors, allowing users to search all databases simultaneously.

General Databases

Below are a list of suggested general databases. General database, unlike databases that are specific to Literature and English, collect a variety of sources including literary resources that you may find useful in your search.

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use this Google Scholar link to see full-text options via Find it @ FAU.
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is now available on the new WorldCat Discovery platform. A comprehensive catalog with over 179 million bibliographic records representing library collections from around the world. The catalog includes books, print journals, DVDs, historic photos, video games, musical scores, newspapers, webpages and other items.

Theses & Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses @ Florida Atlantic University This link opens in a new window
A digital library of dissertations and theses from Florida Atlantic University.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global includes international dissertations and theses as well as all previous content. It is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.