LibGuides: Publishing Biomedical, Translational, and Public Health Research: Case Reports

Publishing Case Reports

Case Report Publishing Checklist

Request a research appointment with a medical librarian to discuss strategies for your literature search & possible publication venues:

Michelle Keba, MSIS, MSL Senior Medical Librarian	View Michelle Keba's availability
Tiffany Follin, MLIS, AHIP Medical Liaison and Outreach Librarian	View Tiffany Follin's availability

Use the following library resources to search for relevant articles:

MEDLINE/PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase's extensive journal and conference coverage, together with in-depth drug indexing and daily updates, supports tracking and precise retrieval of drug and disease information.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration: The Cochrane Central Registry of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Review of Effects, Health Technology Assessment, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine powered by Elseviers proprietary medical taxonomy, EMMeT. ClinicalKey cross searches over 1,000 books, 500 journals, and 2,500 procedural videos from evidence-based and peer-reviewed resources.

Check out the library's YouTube channel to watch example videos of how to search the medical databases:

FAU Medical Library YouTube Videos

Check out example case reports in the library's subscription to BMJ Case Reports.

BMJ Case Reports
BMJ Case Reports is a repository of evidence regarding health and its social determinants. The case reports may be used for education and the improvement of clinical practice.

Contact the medical librarians for the code to waive the fee to publish in BMJ Case Reports as an FAU student & review the instructions on the For Authors page of BMJ Case Reports:

https://casereports.bmj.com/pages/authors/

Looking to publish your case report in a subject specific journal? Check out the list of journals that accept case reports below:

https://osf.io/b9wnx

Citing Your Sources Guide
Includes information about reference managers and citation styles including NLM/Vancouver and the American Medical Association