Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Government Organizations & Institutes
The United States Government Printing Office (GPO) is the largest publisher in the world. The government sponsors the research of many agencies and make its information available to the public. Use these links to see their areas of study, research activities and publications.
NIST provides measurement assurance for the biotechnology industry through the development of quantitative analytical measurement tools for nucleic acids, proteins, metabolites, and cell systems to aid industry in the deployment of innovative biotechnologies and advanced biomaterials.
National Center for Biotechnology Education
This site provides free and open access to governmental biotechnical research in genetics, molecular studies, and more. Also provides information mining tools for nucleotide sequence analysis. According to the site, it "creates public databases, conducts conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information - all for the better understanding of molecular processes affecting human health and disease.
The National Science Digital Library
See this page for data, images, and articles in the Biological Sciences. The National Science Digital Library (NSDL) was created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education.
National Science Foundation - Directorate for Biological Sciences
The NSF Directorate for Biological Sciences provides support for research to advance understanding of the underlying principles and mechanisms governing life. Their web site links to their research, discoveries, proposed research, and awards. Their areas of research include molecular & cellular biosciences, biological infrastructure, integrated organismal systems, and emerging areas.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Use this guide for information on careers in the Biological Sciences and related fields. Written by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, this guide also includes description of careers, education requirements, career outlook, and earnings.
Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
This site provides stories, photos and videos of Smithsonian scientific research that asks questions and explores issues relevant to today and pushes the boundaries of human knowledge.
USGS Ecosystems Survey
Scientists in the USGS Ecosystem Mission Area conduct research and monitoring on freshwater, terrestrial, and marine ecosystems and the fish and wildlife within them.
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
he U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is the premier government agency dedicated to the conservation, protection, and enhancement of fish, wildlife and plants, and their habitats. This site provides information on their projects, publications and recent news.
Florida Government/ Biology Sites
Many governmental and private research organizations are located in the state of Florida. This list goes to their sites; visit them to see their research and activities.
Biology Societies & Organizations