We are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know.
Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Duke Journal of Gender Law & Policy is a scholarly journal.
The World Wide Web can be useful for providing some types of information but often research using databaseswill provide better sources of information. Some sources in databases include law reviews, news magazines, specialized newspapers, and scholarly journals.
Databases
Databases to use when researching topics in Law and Gender:
Campus Research: LawWestlaw's web-based legal research tool for undergraduate and graduate students who need to research law-related issues. This resource includes access to the complete laws and statutes of the federal government and all 50 states, federal regulations, precedent-setting court decisions, KeyCite, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, and current and archived articles from hundreds of leading law reviews and journals.
Academic OneFile (Gale)This link opens in a new windowAcademic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowThe world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
GenderWatchThis link opens in a new windowA full-text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
Funded by statewide allocation.
New York TimesThis link opens in a new windowAlso see Historical New York Times.
Provides coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions and presidential press conference transcripts.
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowAccesses over a billion full-text news, magazine, legal, and business articles and reports, including newspapers, magazines, state and federal laws and regulations, case law, newsletters, and company and industry information.
Funded by statewide allocation.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)This link opens in a new windowThis database covers today's hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration. It includes pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary documents, biographies, periodical articles and more. This is a good source for students to start research or analysis of an issue, to complete writing assignments, prepare for a debate, or create a presentation.
ProQuestThis link opens in a new windowAn all-inclusive list of databases availble to FAU from this vendor.
