At the FAU Libraries, uncovering government documents about the Solar Eclipse is a breeze. Our collection boasts an array of authoritative titles, offering in-depth insights into this celestial event. Dive into the wealth of knowledge with titles like "Solar Eclipses: An Eclipse Explorer's Guide" and "Lunar Limb Profiles for Solar Eclipses." Whether you're a researcher, student, or enthusiast, these documents provide invaluable resources for understanding solar eclipses' science, history, and cultural significance. Visit us today and journey through the wonders of space and astronomy. Below are just a few titles that exist in our Government Documents Collection.
Eclipse activity guide : our place in the solar system -- sun, earth, moon and eclipses by
This guide support activities for learning about the sun, light, our solar system, and eclipses. They draw upon handson, safe activities suitable for children as well as adults. While these activities are designed to help people prepare
for the total eclipse of the sun in 2017, they can be used beyond the eclipse as part of your outreach programs. And,
there is another total eclipse of the sun crossing the U.S. in 2024!
Evaluating the impact of the 2017 solar eclipse on U.S. western interconnection operations. Other title At head of title: Solar eclipse report by
With support from the U.S. Department of Energy Solar Energy Technologies Office, the National Renewable Energy
Laboratory (NREL) partnered with Peak Reliability to evaluate the impact of the August 21, 2017, total solar eclipse
on reliability and electric grid operations in the Western Electricity Coordinating Council (WECC) territory. As a North
American Electric Reliability Corporation Reliability Coordinator, Peak Reliability manages the grid reliability across all or
parts of the14 western United States, British Columbia, and the northern region of Baja California, Mexico. Peak Reliability
used inputs from the study to augment its own analysis for preparing transmission operating plans for the day of the
eclipse. Peak Reliability also provided NREL with data from across its footprint to uncover important insights into the
impact of the eclipse from the penetration of photovoltaics (PV) along its path.
The 2017 total solar eclipse came and went without causing any issues to the operation of the North American electric
power system. This report presents the results of NREL’s studies performed before and after the August 21 event. In a preevent analysis, NREL researchers focused on the spatial and temporal profile of the eclipse and how the output of PV sites
across WECC would be affected. Although the size and location of utility-scale PV (UPV) sites are known and their outputs
are monitored, distributed PV (DPV) (e.g., rooftop solar) poses a greater challenge for grid operations because of its lack
of visibility.
Lunar limb profiles for solar eclipses by Total solar eclipse of 2002 December 04 by
On 2002 December 04, a total eclipse of the Sun will be visible from within a narrow corridor which traverses the Southern Hemisphere. The path of the Moon's umbral shadow begins in the South Atlantic, crosses southern Africa and the Indian Ocean, and ends at sunset in southern Australia. A partial eclipse will be seen within the much broader path of the Moon's penumbral shadow, which includes the southern two thirds of Africa, Antarctica, Indian Ocean and Australia. Detailed predictions for this event are presented and include besselian elements, geographic coordinates of the path of totality, physical ephemeris of the umbra, topocentric limb profile corrections, local circumstances for approximately 400 cities, maps of the eclipse path, weather prospects, the lunar limb profile and the sky during totality. Information on safe eclipse viewing and eclipse photography is included.
Total solar eclipse of 2008 August 01 by
On Friday, 2008 August 01, a total eclipse of the Sun is
visible from within a narrow corridor that traverses half of
Earth. The path of the Moon’s umbral shadow begins in northern Canada and extends across Greenland, the Arctic, central
Russia, Mongolia, and China (Espenak and Anderson, 2006).
A partial eclipse is seen within the much broader path of the
Moon’s penumbral shadow, which includes northeastern North
America, most of Europe, and Asia (Figures 1 and 2)
Delve into the fascinating realm of solar eclipses at the FAU Libraries, where our General Collection offers an array of captivating titles. Explore the wonders of celestial mechanics with renowned works like "Medieval Chronicles and the Rotation of the Earth" and "Eclipse: The Celestial Phenomenon That Changed the Course of History." Whether you're a seasoned astronomer or a curious novice, our collection provides diverse perspectives on this awe-inspiring phenomenon. Unravel the mysteries of the cosmos and expand your understanding of solar eclipses by perusing these esteemed titles available for exploration at our library. An example of what can be found here is the FAU Libraries.
Celestial Shadows Eclipses, Transits, and Occultations by
Much of what is known about the universe came from the study of celestial shadows. This book looks in detail at the way eclipses and other celestial shadows have given us amazing insights into the nature of the objects in our solar system and how they are even helping us discover and analyze planets that orbit stars other than our Sun. A variety of eclipses, transits, and occultations of the mooons of Jupiter and Saturn, Pluto and its satellite Charon, asteroids and stars have helped astronomers to work out their dimensions, structures, and shapes - even the existence of atmospheres and structures of exoplanets. Long before Columbus set out to reach the Far East by sailing West, the curved shadow of the Earth on the Moon during a lunar eclipse revealed that we inhabit a round world, a globe. More recently, comparisons of the sunlit and Earthlit parts of the Moon have been used to determine changes in the Earth's brightness as a way of monitoring possible effects in cloud coverage which may be related to global warming. Shadows were used by the Greek mathematician Eratosthenes to work out the first estimate of the circumference of the Earth, by Galileo to measure the heights of the lunar mountains and by eighteenth century astronomers to determine the scale of the Solar System itself. Some of the rarest and most wonderful shadows of all are those cast onto Earth by the lovely "Evening Star" Venus as it goes between the Earth and the Sun. These majestic transits of Venus occur at most two in a century; after the 2012 transit, there is not a chance to observe this phenomenon until 2117, while the more common sweep of a total solar eclipse creates one of the most dramatic and awe-inspiring events of nature. Though it may have once been a source of consternation or dread, solar eclipses now lead thousands of amateur astronomers and "eclipse-chasers" to travel the globe in order to experience the dramatic view under "totality." These phenomena are among the most spectacular available to observers and are given their full due in Westfall and Sheehan's comprehensive study.
Eclipse! : the what, where, when, why, and how guide to solar and lunar eclipse watching by
The most complete guide to viewing eclipses-including details on every solar and lunar eclipse through 2017 Want to observe the most fleeting eclipse phenomena, take dramatic photos, and keep a detailed record of the experience? Now you can be prepared. This comprehensive one-stop resource covers everything you need to know about solar and lunar eclipses-why they happen, how to view them, how to photograph them, even when and where they will occur through the year 2017. Here's where to turn for: * Detailed explanations of eclipse mechanics and dynamics, viewing techniques, and what to look for, both in the sky and all around you * Extended discussions of eclipse photography and videography-film selection and developing, filter requirements, special care of equipment, and more * Intriguing individual and group activities you can carry out during an eclipse to heighten your enjoyment and deepen your understanding of the event * Detailed maps and discussions on how and where to best view each eclipse, plus travel considerations, likely weather conditions, and equipment recommendations Whether you're a backyard astronomer, a dedicated eclipse chaser, or a teacher guiding students through their first eclipse experience, Eclipse! provides the in-depth, detailed, practical information you need to make the most of these thrilling celestial marvels of nature.
Glorious eclipses : their past, present, and future by
This beautiful large-format volume deals with eclipses of all kinds - lunar, solar and even those elsewhere in the Solar System and beyond. Bringing together in one place all aspects of eclipses, and lavishly illustrated throughout, Glorious Eclipses covers the history of eclipses from ancient times, the celestial mechanics involved, their observation and scientific interest. Personal accounts are given of recent eclipses, up to and including the last total solar eclipse of the twentieth century: the one on August 11th 1999 that passed across Europe, Romania, Turkey and India. This unique book contains the best photographs taken all along its path and is the perfect souvenir for all those who tried or wished to see it. In addition, it contains all you need to know about forthcoming eclipses up to 2060, complete with NASA maps and data, making it the perfect resource for both novice and veteran eclipse-chasers.
Proving Einstein right : the daring expeditions that changed how we look at the universe by
A thrilling adventure story chronicling the perilous journey of the scientists who set out to prove the theory of relativity--the results of which catapulted Albert Einstein to fame and forever changed our understanding of the universe. In 1911, a relatively unknown physicist named Albert Einstein published his preliminary theory of gravity. But it hadn't been tested. To do that, he needed a photograph of starlight as it passed the sun during a total solar eclipse. So began a nearly decade-long quest by seven determined astronomers from observatories in four countries, who traveled the world during five eclipses to capture the elusive sight. Over the years, they faced thunderstorms, the ravages of a world war, lost equipment, and local superstitions. Finally, in May of 1919, British expeditions to northern Brazil and the island of Príncipe managed to photograph the stars, confirming Einstein's theory. At its heart, this is a story of frustration, faith, and ultimate victory--and of the scientists whose efforts helped build the framework for the big bang theory, catapulted Einstein to international fame, and shook the foundation of physics.
Star gods of the Maya : astronomy in art, folklore, and calendars by
This text begins with an discussion of modern Maya beliefs about atronomy introduces. Subsequent chapters are devoted to Precolumbian astronomical imagery. The author delves into may aspects of the Maya astronomical images including gods and their associated glyphs, astronomical almanacs in the Maya codies, and changes in the imagery of the heavens over time. This investigation yields data and a synthesis of inofrmation about the specific atronomical events and cycles recorded in Maya art and architecture.
Totality : eclipses of the sun. by
A total eclipse of the Sun is the most awesome sight in the heavens. Totality: Eclipses of the Sun takes you to eclipses of the past, present, and future, and lets you see - and feel - why people travel to the ends of the Earth to observe them.
Within the FAU Libraries Special Collections, a treasure trove of materials awaits discovery, including rare and unique documents related to the Solar Eclipse. Delve into historical accounts and original manuscripts that shed light on the significance and impact of this celestial event. From antique atlases depicting past eclipses to handwritten observations by early astronomers, our Special Collections offer a glimpse into the rich tapestry of human understanding and fascination with solar eclipses. Explore these remarkable artifacts and immerse yourself in the captivating history and science of one of nature's most awe-inspiring spectacles at FAU Libraries.
James Turrell eclipse by
Edited by Michael Hue-Williams. Texts by Maurice Merleau-Ponty, Robert Solso.
An astronomical diary, or, Almanack for the year of our Lord Christ 1766 : being the second after bissextile or leap-year. Calculated for the meridian of Boston, New-England, lat. 42° 25' north. : containing ephemeris, aspects, spring-tides, judgments of by
Includes verse.
Cover title.
Ames's preface states: "I purpose to make my appearance before you annually, notwithstanding what some obscure persons would insinuate to the contrary ... for they have not only made use of my name, to impose upon the public, by prefixing it to their counterfeit almanacks, but have even advertised that I was not about to publish an almanack for this year, which the public knows to be false." Ames is here alluding to a statement in the preface to Ames's almanack revived and improved ... for ... 1766 ... by a late student at Harvard-College (Boston, R. & S.
An astronomical diary, or, Almanack, for the year of Christian Æra, 1777 : being the first year after bissextile or leap-year, and the first year of American independence which began July fourth, 1776 : containing every thing necessary for an almanack ... by
Includes verse.
Cover title.
Signatures: [A]⁴ B-C⁴
Cover illustration depicts "Type of a solar eclipse, Jan. 9th."
Map "A view of the present seat of war, at and near New-York" depicts General Washington's lines on New York Island (Manhattan): page [3].
Includes "An address to the Tories", dated October 8, 1776 and signed "The author": pages [4]-[5].
Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 297-6911