Synthesis & Transition

Synthesis & Transition (BMS 6405)

Course Directors: Dr. Jennifer Foster

No books assigned; case-based research.

Clinical Tools

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine powered by Elseviers proprietary medical taxonomy, EMMeT. ClinicalKey cross searches over 1,000 books, 500 journals, and 2,500 procedural videos from evidence-based and peer-reviewed resources.
UpToDate
This resource only licensed for use by Medical Students, Nursing Students and selected Faculty at this time.

Medical residents and fellows that rotate through a Baptist Health Facility regularly throughout the academic year will have access through their hospital.

Medical residents and fellows that do not rotate through either Boca Raton Regional Hospital or Bethesda Hospital East can continue to use their FAU access.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine provides health professionals with access to leading clinical references, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window
An integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Access Pediatrics includes more than 20 e-books, drug monographs, and images useable in academic lectures and presentations.
UpToDate
This resource only licensed for use by Medical Students, Nursing Students and selected Faculty at this time.

Medical residents and fellows that rotate through a Baptist Health Facility regularly throughout the academic year will have access through their hospital.

Medical residents and fellows that do not rotate through either Boca Raton Regional Hospital or Bethesda Hospital East can continue to use their FAU access.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine powered by Elseviers proprietary medical taxonomy, EMMeT. ClinicalKey cross searches over 1,000 books, 500 journals, and 2,500 procedural videos from evidence-based and peer-reviewed resources.

ACP Clinical Practice Guidelines
ACP's goal is to provide clinicians with recommendations based on the best available evidence; to inform clinicians of when there is no evidence; and finally, to help clinicians deliver the best health care possible.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine provides health professionals with access to leading clinical references, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window
An integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Access Pediatrics includes more than 20 e-books, drug monographs, and images useable in academic lectures and presentations.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine powered by Elseviers proprietary medical taxonomy, EMMeT. ClinicalKey cross searches over 1,000 books, 500 journals, and 2,500 procedural videos from evidence-based and peer-reviewed resources.
UpToDate
This resource only licensed for use by Medical Students, Nursing Students and selected Faculty at this time.

Medical residents and fellows that rotate through a Baptist Health Facility regularly throughout the academic year will have access through their hospital.

Medical residents and fellows that do not rotate through either Boca Raton Regional Hospital or Bethesda Hospital East can continue to use their FAU access.

Mango Connect

iOS | Android

Mango Connect is an online self-paced language learning system covering over 40 languages. Medical Spanish lessons are available in both the website and app version.

After downloading the app and creating an account, click on Find Free Mango and search for Florida Atlantic University. Then sign in with your FAU ID and Password to link your profile to the FAU Libraries to access Mango content for free.

Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
Creating an account is not required; click on 'Use Mango As A Guest' to navigate the site. Creating an account allows you to save your study time results.
Mango Languages is a self-paced language learning system covering over 40 languages and including 16 ESL classes taught in the native language. Each lesson combines real life situations and audio from native speakers with simple, clear instructions.
Please note: Mango allows for users to be designated as "instructor," which provides access to guides, lesson plans, and student workbooks; the linking of lessons via Canvas; assessment; and the tracking of student progress. If you are an FAU faculty member or instructor, and would like to be added to Mango as instructor, please contact eresources@fau.edu with your request.

Library Resources:

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine provides health professionals with access to leading clinical references, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window
An integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Access Pediatrics includes more than 20 e-books, drug monographs, and images useable in academic lectures and presentations.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine powered by Elseviers proprietary medical taxonomy, EMMeT. ClinicalKey cross searches over 1,000 books, 500 journals, and 2,500 procedural videos from evidence-based and peer-reviewed resources.
UpToDate
This resource only licensed for use by Medical Students, Nursing Students and selected Faculty at this time.

Medical residents and fellows that rotate through a Baptist Health Facility regularly throughout the academic year will have access through their hospital.

Medical residents and fellows that do not rotate through either Boca Raton Regional Hospital or Bethesda Hospital East can continue to use their FAU access.

Free Websites:

Cleveland Clinic
Find thousands of health articles and videos to help you take care of yourself and your family.
Drugs.com
The Drugs.com Drug Information Database is powered by several independent leading medical-information suppliers, including; American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, Cerner Multum and IBM Watson Micromedex. Individual drug (or drug-class) content compiled by these sources is peer reviewed and delivered by Drugs.com.
Familydoctor.org
Trusted medical advice from the American Academy of Family Physicians.
HealthyChildren.org
The American Academy of Pediatrics parenting website.
Mayo Clinic
Searchable health information by diseases and conditions, symptoms, tests and procedures, and drugs and supplements
MedlinePlus
High-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine provides health professionals with access to leading clinical references, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window
An integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Access Pediatrics includes more than 20 e-books, drug monographs, and images useable in academic lectures and presentations.

Publishing Case Reports

Case Report Publishing Checklist

Request a research appointment with a medical librarian to discuss strategies for your literature search & possible publication venues:

Michelle Keba, MSIS, MSL Senior Medical Librarian	View Michelle Keba's availability
Tiffany Follin, MLIS, AHIP Medical Liaison and Outreach Librarian	View Tiffany Follin's availability

Use the following library resources to search for relevant articles:

MEDLINE/PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase's extensive journal and conference coverage, together with in-depth drug indexing and daily updates, supports tracking and precise retrieval of drug and disease information.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration: The Cochrane Central Registry of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Review of Effects, Health Technology Assessment, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine powered by Elseviers proprietary medical taxonomy, EMMeT. ClinicalKey cross searches over 1,000 books, 500 journals, and 2,500 procedural videos from evidence-based and peer-reviewed resources.

Check out the library's YouTube channel to watch example videos of how to search the medical databases:

FAU Medical Library YouTube Videos

Check out example case reports in the library's subscription to BMJ Case Reports.

BMJ Case Reports
BMJ Case Reports is a repository of evidence regarding health and its social determinants. The case reports may be used for education and the improvement of clinical practice.

Contact the medical librarians for the code to waive the fee to publish in BMJ Case Reports as an FAU student & review the instructions on the For Authors page of BMJ Case Reports:

https://casereports.bmj.com/pages/authors/

Looking to publish your case report in a subject specific journal? Check out the list of journals that accept case reports below:

https://osf.io/b9wnx

Citing Your Sources Guide
Includes information about reference managers and citation styles including NLM/Vancouver and the American Medical Association

Last updated on Dec 9, 2024 2:45 PM - Guide Creator(s)

Core Books: Third and Fourth Year Curriculum Book List

Synthesis & Transition