Primary Sources: Historical Canadian Newspapers

Includes a variety of newspapers from across Ontario

Includes numerous Ontario newspapers

Includes the Durham Standard, the Durham Chronicle, the Dundalk Guide, and Grey Review, and the Durham Review

This file also includes issues of the Kingston Whig Standard for 1949.

This file is title St. John Daily News and includes issues of that newspaper, published in Saint John, NB, 1872-1881.

Links to an index to Kingston newspapers 1810-1849 and digitized Kingston newspapers 1810-1900.

This site includes only scattered issues.

Some years are called The London Advertiser

This file also includes issues of newspapers titled La Sentinelle from: Monmagny, Quebec (1883, 1891-1894, 1898, 1921-1925; Lachute, Quebec (1936) and Woonsocket, Rhode Island (1910, 1926-1928)

Digitized newspapers from Newmarket, including the New Era, the Newmarket Courier, the North York Reformer, etc.

This file is mistakenly names the Manitoba Ensign.

This file also includes newspapers titled La Justice from Quebec (1883-1899 Basse-Ville and 1900-1908 Drummondville) and Massachusetts (Holyoke 1940-1968)
There are many years missing.

This file includes issues of the following newspapers:
Montreal: Le Temps 1883, 1886, 1888
Ottawa: Le Temps 1897, 1901-1916
Quebec: Le Temps 1940-1964

This file is titled The Nation and includes issues of that newspaper from Thailand. It also includes issues of The Patriot (Toronto).

This file also includes issues of The Unionist and Halifax Journal published in Halifax, NS (1869); and issues of The Nation published in Toronto 1874-1876.

First Black newspaper in Canada.
Abolitionist newspaper.
Advertised Canada as a destination for runaway slaves.

First Black newspaper in Canada
Abolitionist newspaper

This file is titled "Erie News" and some of the earliest issues are titled "Erie News," but most issues are the Norfolk Reformer.

Temperance newspaper.

Baptist newspaper

Most of the issues of this newspaper are from 1960-1962.

This file includes only a few issues.

This file is titled the Charlottetown Examiner and includes issues of that newspaper (see the page for Prince Edward Island for details). It also includes issues of the Examiner, published in Toronto, for 1836-1847. The issues that are listed as being published in 1946 were actually published in 1846 in Toronto.

This file also includes issues of The Vote, published in London, England 1909-1933.

This file is titled The Union and includes issues of that newspaper published in Ottawa 1859-1860, 1865-1866. It also includes issues of the Unionist and Halifax Journal published in Halifax, Nova Scotia 1869.

This file is titled The Nation and includes issues of that newspaper from Thailand. It also includes issues of The Union (Ottawa) 1859-1860.

Student newspaper from Glendon College.

Canadian Jewish newspaper

Note: This file shows there are a small number of issues in other years, but they are actually for the 1893-1917 period.

This file includes only a few issues.