LibGuides: Cultural Anthropology: Find Articles

Ref.: Franz Boas posing for Kwakiutl Hamatsa figure group at the Smithsonian Institution, 1895.

Retrieved from https://library.artstor.org/asset/ARTSTOR_103_41822003017876

Databases are great sources for finding information for your research paper. In databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles, news articles, videos, and more for your research. Databases pull their information from a variety of Journals and other sources and compile it so that it is more easily found by the researcher. It is important to note that not any one database contains all the information a researcher needs, so be sure to check across several databases when searching for information.

What are the differences between articles, journals, and databases?

An Electronic Journal (or E-journal) is a traditional journal that is in an electronic format; either because it was originally created that way, or because someone took a print journal article and scanned it to make it available electronically.

A Database is what is created when a large number of electronic journals are put in one place and a search interface (usually a search box) is added to help find what you need. Both databases and electronic journals can be subject specific. When you have a database that only has the title or abstract, but not the full text, it is usually referred to as an Index.

Databases Specific to Anthropology

All the World's Primates This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and authoritative resource for information about all the species and subspecies of living lorises, galagos, lemurs, tarsiers, monkeys, and apes. Access continues until Oct. 7, 2021.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to ten (10) simultaneous users.
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Provides access AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications, newsletters and bulletins.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Open Access
Search through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
This resource offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
Rastafari Ephemeral Publications From The Written Rastafari Archives Project This link opens in a new window
The materials in this collection provide an historical and current affairs commentary on the transitional period in the Rastafari Movement's development - a period extending from the early 1970s to the present. It is a forty-three year period during which the Rastafari Movement has been spreading across the Afro-Atlantic world in one form or another and becoming progressively globalized.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, and education.

Funded by statewide allocation.

Video Resources in Anthropology

Anthropology (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
The Alexander Street Anthropology collections offer comprehensive, multimedia resources for the study of anthropology, including the largest collection of ethnographic videos and previously unpublished archival field materials. The resources work in tandem to bring the fieldwork process to life by juxtaposing original fieldwork with subsequent published ethnographies, as well as follow up studies and visual ethnographies that span a century.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
If accessing without an Artstor account, click on 'Home', top left, in order to leave the Registration page.

To make use of all Artstor functionality, you will need to register. Use the Register hyperlink on the top right of the home page.
The Artstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. The collections cover many subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Open Access
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Video Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. The collection covers every region of the world and feature the work of many of the influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text.
Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.

Videos in Cultural Anthropology

FAU Student/Staff/Faculty video link
FAU Students/Faculty/Staff may access a documentary on Margaret Mead's "Coming of Age" video at this link. The importance of Margaret Mead's contributions to the field of cultural anthropology cannot be overstated.

Below is a video that documents the Hopi's Origin Story. The study of religion and language, such as the one featured in this video, are important factors (but not the only ones) that shape culture.

The Anthropologist follows American teenager, Katie Crate, over the course of five years as she travels alongside her mother Susie, a cultural anthropologist, studying the impact of climate change on different communities. Their journey parallels that of renowned anthropologist Margaret Mead, who for decades sought to understand how global change affects remote cultures.

General Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online brings together over 40 multidisciplinary video collections from Alexander Street Press, covering art and architecture, diversity, health sciences, history, music and performing arts, psychology and counseling, sciences and engineering, and social sciences. See separate collection titles and the mulitmedia platform -Alexander Street Press- within our A-Z Database List.
Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
Instructors, please use the permalink for these videos in Canvas; the video embed code does not work properly.

ProQuest's Alexander Street products are curated, discipline-focused, primary source collections and streaming media. Subject matter spans across the curriculum —in literature; music; women's history; black history; psychological counseling and therapy; social and cultural history; theatre; and other areas.
See separate collection titles and the video platform - Alexander Street Press Video - within our A-Z Database List.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

Last updated on Apr 11, 2024 9:46 AM