World Polio Day 2022 - Pop-Up Library - World Polio Day - LibGuides at Florida Atlantic University

History

Monday, October 24, 2022 has been declared World Polio Day by Rotary International, as they fight to eradicate this horrific disease.

Poliomyelitis, otherwise known as Polio, is one of the most feared viral diseases known today. The virus primarily strikes children and kills them or cripples them for life. The disease is thought to have been around for thousands of years, as evidenced by carvings on Egyptian stele showing figures with withered legs: one of the more well-known signs that someone survived polio as a child.

In the 1950s, the race was on to develop a vaccine to save children from polio. Dr. Jonas Salk released the vaccine in 1955, finally ending the grip that polio had on the world.

Rotary International took up the fight in 1985 to eradicate the polio virus, just as the smallpox virus had been eradicated earlier. To date, two of the three strains of the polio virus have been eliminated, The work continues to eradicate the final strain polio so that no more children will have to suffer and die from the virus.

History of the Polio Vaccine
Presented by the World Health Organization
Dr. Jonas Edward Salk
Learn about Dr. Salk, the creator of the polio vaccine, and his legacy: the Salk Institute, dedicated to discovering cures for viral illnesses that plague humanity

World Health Organization World Polio Day 2022 and Beyond: a Live-Stream Event
Join WHO Director-General Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus and Rotary International President for 2022-2023 Jennifer Jones for a live-stream event where they discuss what their organizations have done towards eradicating the Polio virus and the work that is still needed.

Recordings of the plenary and breakout sessions are available on the webpage.
Introduction to Poliomyelitis and the Global Eradication Initiative - Online Course Suitable for Anyone
This online training will be used to teach and refresh participants on the basics of the poliovirus, introduce the Global Polio Eradication Initiative (GPEI) partnership, and provide an overview of our core response strategies and the remaining challenges to eradication.
Rotary: End Polio Now
Join Rotary International as they raise awareness and support for the fight to eradicate the polio virus. Find resources, tool kits and links to events here.

Books & Ebooks

Polio by David M. Oshinsky
Call Number: EBOOK, also RC181 .U5 O83 2005 (Jupiter)
ISBN: 9780195307146
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Polio by Daniel J. Wilson
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0313358982
Publication Date: 2009-09-23
Chasing Polio in Pakistan by Svea Closser
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780826517098
Publication Date: 2010-08-16
The Cutter Incident by Paul A. Offit
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780300108644
Publication Date: 2005-10-10
The Death of a Disease by Bernard Seytre (Editor); Mary Shaffer (Editor)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780813536767
Publication Date: 2005-08-22
Jonas Salk by Charlotte DeCroes Jacobs
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780199334414
Publication Date: 2015-05-19
The Man He Became by James Tobin
Call Number: E807 .T63 2013
ISBN: 9780743265157
Publication Date: 2013-11-12
The Vaccine Book by Barry R. Bloom (Editor); Paul-Henri Lambert (Editor)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780128054000
Publication Date: 2016-06-23
Virus Evolution by Scott C. Weaver (Editor); Mark Denison (Editor); Marilyn J. Roossinck (Editor); Marco Vignuzzi (Editor)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 1910190241
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
A Planet of Viruses by Carl Zimmer
Call Number: QR360 .Z65 2011
ISBN: 9780226983356
Publication Date: 2011-09-15
The Panic Virus by Seth Mnookin
Call Number: RA638 .M675 2011
ISBN: 9781439158647
Publication Date: 2011-01-11

Videos

Polio Vaccine
Streaming Video
It was long one of the most deadly and damaging of man's afflictions: a virus that struck without warning, killing or crippling thousands every year. Poliomyelitis, better known as Polio, even affected America's history, It nearly killed Franklin Delano Roosevelt and helped forge the courage and character that would make him one of the nation's most celebrated leaders. The search for a cure to polio is a story worthy of a great novel. Some of the brightest minds in medicine were at a loss, and despite massive funding, polio remained a killer into the fifties. But then, a young doctor named Jonas Salk got involved and became a hero around the world for developing a vaccine that stopped the disease in its tracks. MODERN MARVELS tells the dramatic tale, introducing the people at its heart and revisiting the breakthroughs, setbacks and seemingly desperate acts that finally led to a cure. Polio victims illustrate the horrors of a disease that has been largely forgotten, and scientists from the Salk Institute tell of the moment of triumph, and their continuing work with polio and other killers.
A World Without Polio
Streaming Video
Our societies are confronted with public health problems and they have to find strategies to cope with them. In order to shed light on this issue, this documentary takes a new look at the chain of solidarity implemented to fight polio, a disease which once caused as much havoc as AIDS today. In 1930, President Franklin Roosevelt, who was a victim of polio himself, initiated the fight against the disease. More than 70 years later, polio is close to eradication. Over the past 15 years, more than 2 billion children have been vaccinated, and more than 10 million volunteers have been mobilized all over the world. The chain of solidarity operates on a worldwide scale, with the commitment of organizations like the WHO and UNICEF. This film invites us to discover the story of the largest public health initiative ever undertaken in the world.
The Roosevelts: An Intimate History. "Able-Bodied"
Streaming Video
This 2014 short feature by Ken Burns discusses Franklin Roosevelt's polio and how it affected the public's perception of him.

Featured Indexes & Databases

Indexes

PubMed / Medline
PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Biological Science Collection - ProQuest
This index includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE indexes and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The index includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.
bioRxiv
bioRxiv is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
A large index of articles and publications on the topics of Health and Medicine

Databases

NCBI Virus - National Library of Medicine
NCBI Virus is an integrative, value-added resource designed to support retrieval, display and analysis of a curated collection of virus sequences and large sequence datasets. We are a community portal for viral sequence data, and our goal is to increase the usability of data archived in GenBank and other NCBI repositories.
ViPR: Virus Pathogen Resource
This database provides a bioinformatics resource to support scientific research on viral pathogens. As of the current release, 20 viral families are included, including single-stranded RNA genomes in either directionality, and double-stranded DNA genomes. Important and reliable public sources of genomic, proteomic, and annotation data for each of these pathogens have been identified and data has been obtained and integrated into our database. The table of Imported Public Data below identifies public and project-initiated data sources. To meet the needs of the research community, the support team has enriched the public data in the database through the application of prediction algorithms and by applying custom-developed pipelines to the primary sequence or annotation data. The Generated Data table below identifies which algorithm or pipeline is used to generate each data type.

Resources on the Web

Resources on the Web

Poliomyelitis Overview - World Health Organization
Learn what polio is and what the symptoms and current treatments are.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Polio Eradication
Learn about polio and what is being done to eradicate the virus.
Rotary and the Fight against Polio: A Timeline
Scroll down the page and use the arrows to view the timeline of polio history and major milestones in eraticating polio made by Rotary.
Rotary: End Polio Now
Join Rotary International as they raise awareness and support for the fight to eradicate the polio virus. Find resources, tool kits and links to events here.
Global Polio Eradication Initiative
Learn about efforts around the world to eradicate the polio virus in the last few places where it is found wild, and learn how you can help the initiative.
History of Vaccines
Presented by the College of Physicians of Philadelphia, location of the Mutter Museum. Learn about the development of vaccines, including the smallpox and polio vaccines, and how they work.
History of Medicine & Public Health (NYAM)
Polio: A fearful disease nears its end
A blog post from the New York Academies of Medicine with artifacts and descriptions of polio and its decline.
Post Polio Health International
Post-Polio Health International’s mission is to collect, preserve and make available research and knowledge to promote the well-being and independence of polio survivors, home ventilator users, their caregivers and families, and to support the health professionals who treat them.

Research Guides

View our research guides for links and more information about viruses, immunology and other topics in the biological sciences.