LibGuides: Theatre & Dance: Books & Articles

Books

Search the catalog using key words (theatre, costume design, Edward Albee)
Use an asterisk with your search terms to find word variations
(theat* locates theatre, theater, theatrical)
Click subject links in the catalog record to find more related books

Selected Scholarly Journals

American Drama
Journal of Dramatic Theory & Criticism
Modern Drama
Performing Arts Journal
Renaissance Drama
Shakespeare Quarterly
Theatre Research International
Look for the journals above, as well others you're in search of, by searching the Libraries' collection of electronic journals.

Core Databases

Artstor This link opens in a new window Provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world. The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more.
Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library This link opens in a new window
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 180 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window Delivers biographical and bibliographical information on authors and their works. Covers authors of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism. Funded by statewide allocation.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Provides a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations . The indexed materials coverage is international. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Funded by statewide allocation.
North American Theatre Online This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatres. Includes nearly 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records, to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies.
Ringling Collection This link opens in a new window Open Access The Ringling Collection is comprised of cabinet cards, postcards and photographs of 19th Century American and British actors and actresses. There are more than 6,000 images in this digital collection depicting more than 3,000 actors and actresses. The Collection is important not simply for its pictures of the idols of a bygone era, but for its depictions of clothing, hair styles and other indicators of the period's social mores and attitudes. The original collection is housed in the Belknap Collection for the Performing Arts in the Smathers Libraries' Department of Special Collections at the University of Florida.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries; online in streaming video format.
Twentieth Century North American Drama This link opens in a new window Contains 1,530 plays by 223 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs, and other ephemera related to the plays. More than 150 of the plays are published here for the first time.

General Databases for Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including language, linguistics, and arts & literature.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines.