Skip to Main Content
This summer, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
About This List
Google Scholar Citations provide an estimate of the number of times published materials are referenced in subsequent works. The list of 25 Harbor Branch library books presented here drew a minimum of one thousand citations, with only one exception where the citation count was 867. This information was collected in 2020, and it is thought that due to the high use or impact of these works, their citation counts will continue to rise.
Statistics and Statistical Analysis Texts on the HBOI Library Shelves
Some HBOI Library shelf items are also available in e-book format, such as those appearing below. Some editions may be found at other FAU Library locations. Check the library catalog to locate what is most relevant to your search.
Applied Regression Analysis by Norman R. Draper; Harry Smith
An outstanding introduction to the fundamentals of regression analysis-updated and expanded The methods of regression analysis are the most widely used statistical tools for discovering the relationships among variables. This classic text, with its emphasis on clear, thorough presentation of concepts and applications, offers a complete, easily accessible introduction to the fundamentals of regression analysis. Assuming only a basic knowledge of elementary statistics, Applied Regression Analysis, Third Edition focuses on the fitting and checking of both linear and nonlinear regression models, using small and large data sets, with pocket calculators or computers. This Third Edition features separate chapters on multicollinearity, generalized linear models, mixture ingredients, geometry of regression, robust regression, and resampling procedures. Extensive support materials include sets of carefully designed exercises with full or partial solutions and a series of true/false questions with answers. All data sets used in both the text and the exercises can be found on the companion disk at the back of the book. For analysts, researchers, and students in university, industrial, and government courses on regression, this text is an excellent introduction to the subject and an efficient means of learning how to use a valuable analytical tool. It will also prove an invaluable reference resource for applied scientists and statisticians.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2014-08-25
Experimental Design and Data Analysis for Biologists by Gerry P. Quinn; Michael J. Keough
An essential textbook for any student or researcher in biology needing to design experiments, sample programs or analyse the resulting data. The text begins with a revision of estimation and hypothesis testing methods, covering both classical and Bayesian philosophies, before advancing to the analysis of linear and generalized linear models. Topics covered include linear and logistic regression, simple and complex ANOVA models (for factorial, nested, block, split-plot and repeated measures and covariance designs), and log-linear models. Multivariate techniques, including classification and ordination, are then introduced. Special emphasis is placed on checking assumptions, exploratory data analysis and presentation of results. The main analyses are illustrated with many examples from published papers and there is an extensive reference list to both the statistical and biological literature. The book is supported by a website that provides all data sets, questions for each chapter and links to software.
Call Number: QH323.5 .Q85 2002
Publication Date: 2002-03-21
Experimentation, Validation, and Uncertainty Analysis for Engineers by Hugh W. Coleman; W. Glenn Steele
Helps engineers and scientists assess and manage uncertainty at all stages of experimentation and validation of simulations Fully updated from its previous edition, Experimentation, Validation, and Uncertainty Analysis for Engineers, Fourth Edition includes expanded coverage and new examples of applying the Monte Carlo Method (MCM) in performing uncertainty analyses. Presenting the current, internationally accepted methodology from ISO, ANSI, and ASME standards for propagating uncertainties using both the MCM and the Taylor Series Method (TSM), it provides a logical approach to experimentation and validation through the application of uncertainty analysis in the planning, design, construction, debugging, execution, data analysis, and reporting phases of experimental and validation programs. It also illustrates how to use a spreadsheet approach to apply the MCM and the TSM, based on the authors' experience in applying uncertainty analysis in complex, large-scale testing of real engineering systems. Experimentation, Validation, and Uncertainty Analysis for Engineers, Fourth Edition includes examples throughout, contains end of chapter problems, and is accompanied by the authors' website www.uncertainty-analysis.com. Guides readers through all aspects of experimentation, validation, and uncertainty analysis Emphasizes the use of the Monte Carlo Method in performing uncertainty analysis Includes complete new examples throughout Features workable problems at the end of chapters Experimentation, Validation, and Uncertainty Analysis for Engineers, Fourth Edition is an ideal text and guide for researchers, engineers, and graduate and senior undergraduate students in engineering and science disciplines. Knowledge of the material in this Fourth Edition is a must for those involved in executing or managing experimental programs or validating models and simulations.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2018-04-09
Solutions Manual to Accompany Introduction to Linear Regression Analysis by Douglas C. Montgomery; Elizabeth A. Peck; G. Geoffrey Vining; Anne G. Ryan (Prepared for Publication by)
As the Solutions Manual, this book is meant to accompany the main title, Introduction to Linear Regression Analysis, Fifth Edition. Clearly balancing theory with applications, this book describes both the conventional and less common uses of linear regression in the practical context of today's mathematical and scientific research. Beginning with a general introduction to regression modeling, including typical applications, the book then outlines a host of technical tools that form the linear regression analytical arsenal, including: basic inference procedures and introductory aspects of model adequacy checking; how transformations and weighted least squares can be used to resolve problems of model inadequacy; how to deal with influential observations; and polynomial regression models and their variations. The book also includes material on regression models with autocorrelated errors, bootstrapping regression estimates, classification and regression trees, and regression model validation.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2013-04-23
Nonparametric Statistical Methods by Myles Hollander; Douglas A. Wolfe; Eric Chicken
Praise for the Second Edition "This book should be an essential part of the personal library of every practicing statistician."--Technometrics Thoroughly revised and updated, the new edition of Nonparametric Statistical Methods includes additional modern topics and procedures, more practical data sets, and new problems from real-life situations. The book continues to emphasize the importance of nonparametric methods as a significant branch of modern statistics and equips readers with the conceptual and technical skills necessary to select and apply the appropriate procedures for any given situation. Written by leading statisticians, Nonparametric Statistical Methods, Third Edition provides readers with crucial nonparametric techniques in a variety of settings, emphasizing the assumptions underlying the methods. The book provides an extensive array of examples that clearly illustrate how to use nonparametric approaches for handling one- or two-sample location and dispersion problems, dichotomous data, and one-way and two-way layout problems. In addition, the Third Edition features: The use of the freely available R software to aid in computation and simulation, including many new R programs written explicitly for this new edition New chapters that address density estimation, wavelets, smoothing, ranked set sampling, and Bayesian nonparametrics Problems that illustrate examples from agricultural science, astronomy, biology, criminology, education, engineering, environmental science, geology, home economics, medicine, oceanography, physics, psychology, sociology, and space science Nonparametric Statistical Methods, Third Edition is an excellent reference for applied statisticians and practitioners who seek a review of nonparametric methods and their relevant applications. The book is also an ideal textbook for upper-undergraduate and first-year graduate courses in applied nonparametric statistics.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2013-11-06
Last updated on Jan 19, 2023 11:10 AM