This summer, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know.
NVivo is a qualitative research software. Users can import text, audio files, video, email, spreadsheets, web content and more into NVivo to organize, explore and analyze many documents for qualitative and mixed methods research. In addition, many utilize NVivo to identify themes and explore connections during a literature review.
See NVivo's YouTube page for webinars on using NVivo's many features and for self-paced training.
Books in the Library
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research by Patricia Leavy (Editor)The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive overview of the field of qualitative research. It is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences. The contributors represent some of the most influential and innovative researchersin the field as well as emerging scholars. This handbook provides a broad introduction to the field of qualitative research to those with little to no background in the subject, while simultaneously providing substantive contributions to the field that will be of interest to even the mostexperienced researchers. It serves as a user-friendly teaching tool suitable for a range of undergraduate or graduate courses, as well as individuals working on their thesis or other research projects.With a focus on methodological instruction, this volume offers both a retrospective and prospective view of the field. The first two sections explore the history of the field, ethics and philosophical/theoretical approaches. The next three sections focus on the major methods of qualitative practiceas well as newer approaches (such as arts-based research and internet research); area studies often excluded (such as museum studies and disaster studies); and mixed methods and participatory methods (such as community-based research). The next section covers key issues including data analysis,interpretation, writing and assessment. The final section offers a commentary about politics and research and the move towards public scholarship.
Call Number: eBook (FAU log-in required)
Publication Date: 2020
Qualitative Data by Carl Auerbach; Louise B. SilversteinA necessary guide through the qualitative research process Qualitative Data is meant for the novice researcher who needs guidance on what specifically to do when faced with a sea of information. It takes readers through the qualitative research process, beginning with an examination of the basic philosophy of qualitative research, and ending with planning and carrying out a qualitative research study. It provides an explicit, step-by-step procedure that will take the researcher from the raw text of interview data through data analysis and theory construction to the creation of a publishable work. The volume provides actual examples based on the authors' own work, including two published pieces in the appendix, so that readers can follow examples for each step of the process, from the project's inception to its finished product. The volume also includes an appendix explaining how to implement these data analysis procedures using NVIVO, a qualitative data analysis program.
Call Number: eBook and BF76.5 .A95 2003 (Jupiter Campus
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
Atlas.ti Tutorials and Books
Use Atlas.ti for the qualitative analysis of large bodies of textual, graphical, audio and video data.
MAXDQA works with many data formats. It can be used for conducting research using many methods of analysis, e.g. Grounded Theory, qualitative content analysis, group discussions, discourse analysis, and case and field studies.