Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of videos in a variety of subject areas such as nursing, business, science, and film studies, and from a number of producers including California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation (MEF), Symptom Media, and more.
Current Affairs in Video This link opens in a new window
Current Affairs in Video features award-winning films and documentaries emphasizing detailed analysis and discussion of the critical issues of the day.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Video Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. The collection covers every region of the world and feature the work of many of the influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Anthropology (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
The Alexander Street Anthropology collections offer comprehensive, multimedia resources for the study of anthropology, including the largest collection of ethnographic videos and previously unpublished archival field materials. The resources work in tandem to bring the fieldwork process to life by juxtaposing original fieldwork with subsequent published ethnographies, as well as follow up studies and visual ethnographies that span a century.
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
Databases - Other
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
This database includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The Development Data Group coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. These databases are used by teams to prepare Country Assistance Strategies, poverty assessments, research studies, and other forms of economic and sector work. Included are World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Africa Development Indicators, and Global Economic Monitor.
Education Full Text and ERIC This link opens in a new window
This link allows searching of both of these databases covering the literature in the field of education.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Sustainability Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database includes all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.
International Historical Statistics This link opens in a new window
International Historical Statistics is collection of statistical data from around the world. It covers a wide range of socio-economic topics and provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issues and Identities This link opens in a new window
Student Tech Fee Funded
Womens Studies Archive: Womens Issues and Identities provides the opportunity to witness history from the female perspective. Global in scope and offering coverage of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. A wide range of primary sources provide a close look at some of the pioneers of women's history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society. Within the archive can be found fascinating historical records from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch.