It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guide to Science Information Resources: Types of Publications
Scholarly or professional literature is a world that consists of many types of publications. They are commonly found in an index and database search, and used as references cited in a research publication. See below for examples and explanations.
Professional literature falls under 3 categories:
Types of Publications
Direct documentation or interaction with an event or occurrence.
Results of original research;
Peer-reviewed journal articles
Published experimental, quasi-experimental, mixed method, or qualitative research
Theses & dissertations
Laws & legislation
Conference reports or proceedings
Interviews & transcripts
Raw data (directly collected and gleaned from an experiment or study)
Beer, K., Kolbe, E., Kahana, N.B., Yayon, N., Weiss, R., Menegazzi, P., Bloch, G., & Helfrich-Forster (2018). Pigment-Dispersing Factor-expressing neurons convey circadian information in the honey bee brain. Open Biology, 8(1). DOI: 10.1098/rsob.170224
Based on an indirect interaction with an event or information.
Summarizes, uses, discusses, or comments on information from primary sources.
Books (not the result of original research)
Reviews: systematic, literature
Data gleaned and collected by others but used in another study
Original Article: Provides new information based on original research, and presents a research topic, its background, methodology used, results, conclusion and discussion of results. These usually appear in scholarly journals.
Dissertation: a document on a scholarly or research topic done by a student to fulfill the requirements of attaining an advanced degree (usually masters or doctoral-level). Scholars often use these to examine their works cited. See Proquest Dissertations & Theses Globalfor examples (FAU log-in required).
Pursell, G.R. (2009). Adolescent conflict with parents and friends: The role of negative affect and resolution strategy in predicting relationship impact [Doctoral dissertation, Florida Atlantic University]. Florida Atlantic University Libraries Institutional Repository, https://fau.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/fau%3A4238
Review: a detailed study or overview of developments within a specific topic. Many articles and studies may be referred to in a review.
Li, Y, Lawley, M.A., Siscovick, D.S., Donglan, Z., & Pagan, J.A. (2016). Agent-based modeling of chronic diseases: A narrative review and future research directions. Preventing Chronic Disease, 13(E69). DOI: 10.5888/pcd13.150561
Conference paper or proceeding: a paper presented at a conference, meeting, or symposium of a professional, scholarly organization. Many researchers use conferences to solicit feedback on their work from others within their field, and then use the feedback for updates, refinements, or considerations for their research topic.
Harshman, N.L. (2016). Five is more: Comments on symmetry, integrability, and solvability for a few particles in a one-dimensional trap. Paper presented at the 21st International Conference on Few-Body Problems in Physics, Chicago, IL. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1051/epjconf/201611302007
Pre-print:an article that has undergone the peer-review process and been accepted to a journal but not yet published.
Another type of pre-print is a manuscript of an article that has not yet been accepted to a publication but made available for comment and feedback. While this type of pre-print has not yet undergone peer review, it provides an opportunity for feedback and information exchange.
Kumar, S., Rosnes, E., & Graell i Amat, A. (2016, May 26). Secure repairable fountain codes. IEEE Communications Letters. Advance online publication. https://arxiv.org/abs/1605.08300
Errata is a notice of a production error for a published work. A corrigendum is the same except it notes an error made by an author.
An errata and a corrigendum are issued by a publisher and provide corrections. Please note if a publication of interest has one in order to get its most updated or correct information.
See the following examples:
1. (Figure 1) Erratum to "Positron emission tomography-directed therapy for patients with limited-stage diffuse large B-cell lymphoma," Journal of Clinical Oncology, 2020.
2. (Figure 2) Corrigendum to "Shock-synthesized quasicrystals," by Peter Nemeth, IUCrJ 8(2), 2020.
A reference work is a collection of general facts within a field. These can be used to find standards, measurements, or the general background of a theory. Many types of reference works exist, but these are ones more commonly used in the sciences.
Handbook: a resource that summarizes major topics or processes within a field. These often provide tables with equations, functions, algorithms, and other established measurements or methods. See Knovel Critical Tables (FAU log-in required).
Standard: a document with agreed-upon technical specifications or other criteria with the intention of being used as rules, guidelines, or definitions of characteristics to ensure that materials, products, processes, or services are fit for their purpose (International Organization for Standardization, n.d.). A standard is established by a professional organization to provide a baseline of acceptable quality. See Engineers Edge list and description of standards from ANSI, ASTM, and others.
Encyclopedia: a collection of summaries on selected key concepts within a field. Scholars often use one as an initial resource to learn about an unfamiliar topic. See Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia (FAU log-in required).
Certain scientific fields communicate their findings using other types of publications:
Technical note: a description of new technology and recent innovations.
Technical report: an account of work done on a research project; often used for internal documentation within a company or institution.
Patent: a public notice of an invention filed with a governmental patent agency. A patent gives the inventor exclusive rights to his or her creation for a certain amount of time. A patent document often provides technical information on a given work or form of technology. It does not undergo the peer review process, but rather is a legal document.
Gray (or grey) literature generally consists of publications that are not distributed through scholarly or commercial channels such as professional journals. Types of gray literature may include:
Company research or "white papers"
Some definitions of gray literature include publications such as blogs, statistical reports, and working papers.
The purpose of gray literature varies and depends on the setting in which it is published and distributed. In corporations or organizations, gray literature may be used to distribute new information, communicate for internal purposes, or to document activities. One example is State Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Programs in Philadelphia, a report of The Pew Charitable Trust's study on medical-assisted treatment (MAT) and opioid-related deaths. For academic contexts, gray literature may be a forum for presenting ideas that may be emerging or do not yet have wide interest.
Gray literature should be considered in any literature review in order have a broader view of what is discussed and researched on a particular topic.
The following document types are often retrieved in a database search. These are generally known as "front material." Although they do not communicate original research or generate new knowledge, their role is to provide an arena for commentary and discussion within a field:
Commentary: an expert's response to a study based on his or her knowledge or experience to it.
Editorial: a review or critique of articles within the featured issue of a journal, a brief discussion of a topic, or a notice of recent developments within a field.
Letters to the Editor: also known as correspondence. These are usually written in response to content featured in a journal. They may be used to generate new ideas.