Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

Medical Mobile Apps: FAU Library Resources

FAU Medical Library

To return to the Medical and Health Sciences Collections and User Services page, please click here

Point of Care

 Access Medicine

iOS | Android 

The AccessMedicine App from McGraw-Hill Medical delivers indispensable support and invaluable point of care solutions for your clinical practice.  For continued access, a user must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days through your institution. Click here for more information.   

Features:

  • Quick Medical Dx & Tx, a collection of concise evidence-based outlines. 
  • Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, provides color images & a summary outline of skin disorders and diseases. 
  • Differential Diagnostic Tool,  provides more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus®.
  • Diagnostic Tests, a quick reference guide to the selections and interpretation of commonly used diagnostic tests. 

 

    ClinicalKey

iOS | Android

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine from Elsevier, a world-leading provider of scientific, technical and medical information products and services. ClinicalKey helps clinicians rapidly access evidence-based, peer reviewed information to improve speed to accurate diagnosis and treatment, with the goal of improving patient outcomes and lowering the high cost of care. ClinicalKey’s Smart Search technology understands specific questions and pulls the most clinically relevant results from more than 1,000 reference books, 600 journals, 2,900 drug monographs, 17,000+ videos and more. Users must initially create a user name and password on-campus on the database site and can then access the full database from mobile devices.  Alternatively, ClinicalKey can be accessed via EZproxy.

Some Features

  • Guidelines. 
  • Patient Education.
  • First Consult. 
  • CME Credits

Tip: Search for term, then use filter option in lower left corner to choose your desired content type

 

Education

  UpToDate

iOS | Android 

Note: UpToDate is to be used for FAU educational purposes only. Please do not share your UpToDate or FAU credentials with ANYONE. Access to UpToDate is limited to FAU FULL-TIME employees and medical students, and will be monitored for unauthorized use. If you have any questions, please reach out to the medical librarians. 

Users will need to create a personal account before using UTD. 

Directions to create an account:

  • From on or off campus, visit the webpage http://ezproxy.fau.edu/login?url=https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search?unid=^u&srcsys=EZPX469871   and click the orange "Register" box in the upper right corner of the page. 
  • Fill in the fields and click "submit registration." 
  • View License/ Privacy Policy and accept/decline. 
  • If using UTD on a shared computer, remember to log out when done to protect your privileges!
  • Once every 90 days you will need to re-verify your FAU affiliation. Simply log into UTD from on or off-campus (if off-campus remember to either use the EZProxy stable link, four steps above, or log into EZProxy before going to www.uptodate.com).  

Directions to install App:

  • Choose one of the hyperlinked app choices below this listing's UTD icon, above, or visit your device's playstore and search for "UpToDate." 
    • You can install the mobile app on up to two devices. 
  • Open the UpToDate mobile app once downloading is complete.
  • Log in with your UTD username and password. You will only need to do this once- the app will remember you. 
  • Every 90 days remember to re-verify. 

Language

  Mango Connect

iOS | Android

Mango Connect is an online self-paced language learning system covering over 40 languages and including 16 ESL classes taught in the native language. Each lesson combines real life situations and audio from native speakers with simple, clear instructions.

Download the app to get your first language in any language for free. Link your profile to FAU Libraries to gain full access to Mango content.

Medicial Spanish lessons are available in both the website and app version. 

Website format available here

 

Research

 Cochrane Library

iOS | Android

The iPad edition of the Cochrane Library offers an auto-updated selection of the highest quality evidence from Cochrane Reviews published in the last month. Previous issues are archived for easy access. App is free, however please note that it does not offer full access to the database: FAU users will have to visit Cochrane through the main library page for full content access.   

Features:

  • 12 Cochrane Reviews specially selected for every monthly issue.
  •  Downloadable Cochrane Library content for reading offline. 
  • A bookmark feature for creating your own special collections of Cochrane evidence. 


  Jove 

iOS | Android 

JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. The JoVE iOS app can be used to browse through and search for JoVE science videos and protocol text. Users can also add videos to their favorites list, as well as browse through suggested recommended videos based off of favorites. First time users will need to "sign up" with their FAU credentials to obtain access to JOVE videos. An activation link will be sent to your FAU email.  

 

 PubMed

iOS | Android 

PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh) is an app for discovering relevant health information at the National Library of Medicine. Journal abstracts, TBLs ("the bottom line" summaries) and full text articles (requires subscription to journals) can be accessed anywhere the Internet is available.

 Log into EZ Proxy first. If the article is available through FAU, users will be led to the article after clicking "Full Text." If the article is not available, users will be brought to the PubMed search page: users can then fill out an ILL request for that article. 

Features:

  • PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome): search with a well-formulated clinical query
  •  askMEDLINE: a free-text, natural language search tool
  • Consensus Abstracts: Search using PICO or askMEDLINE then select concurring abstracts from journals. View selected TBLs and Abstracts in one page.
  • CQs: Use Clinical Queries to search journal articles. Indicate Category (therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical predictions guideline) and Emphasis (specific, sensitive) to focus search strategy.
  • Journal Browser: read the latest abstracts and TBLs of MEDLINE indexed journals.
  • Archive: save search results for reading later
  • Retrieved citations may be sent by e-mail from any of the featured tools
  • Compatible with iOS 6 to 8.

 

 Ovid

iOS | Android 

Now you can read your favorite journals from work in an easy-to-use app for your iPad! 

First time users will need to create an account through Ovid. For access directions, click here. Once your token is activated, you will have to renew your account access every 90 days. 

   Trip database

Literature available through mobile friendly Trip website, there is not an available app. Free to use but registered users receive many benefits when they sign in. 

 

    MedOne 

iOS | Android 

 

Combining expert information with stunning visuals and video, MedOne provides access to Thieme’s award-winning content across multiple specialties including neurosurgery, radiology, plastic surgery and medical education. The companion MedOne app allows access to your MedOne content, which can be viewed in offline or online access mode. Easily load your e-books and e-journals on your iPhone or iPad and read when and where you want.

First time users will need to be on the campus wireless network to access the app. 

 

  QxMD Read

iOS | Android 

'Read by QxMD' provides a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific research, read outstanding topic reviews and search PubMed. Users will need to sign into app with their FAU credentials. Once verified, QxMD will remain logged in. 

Features: 

  • Get full text PDFs with one tap
  •  Keep up with the latest new research that will impact your practice
  •  Browse through 1000s of outstanding topic reviews
  •  Search millions of articles from PubMed and our database of outstanding topic reviews
  •  Read your favorite journals or browse article collections.
  •  Access full text through your university/institutional subscription or via open access publishers
  •  Share articles with colleagues over email, Twitter and Facebook
  •  Organize and review your personal collection of articles
  •  Earn CME credit.