The FAU Libraries map collection includes over 38,000 physical maps and also provides access to online map resources. Our extensive collection of maps includes historical, geological, political, travel, topical maps, and more. The map collection is located on the First Floor East of the S.E. Wimberly Library.
Maps are usually classified by these three types: Political, Physical, and Thematic.
How to Read a Topo Map (Short video)
How to Read a Topographic Map (NRSC, USDA)
Map Scales (USGS Fact Sheet)
What are Topographic Maps?
"Topographic maps show the three-dimensional shape of the landscape by representing equal elevation with lines on a two-dimensional map; they are in essence a type of contour map."
Who use topographic maps?
Topographic maps are often used by hikers or outdoor enthusiasts, geoscientists and geoscience students.
How do we use topographic maps?
"Topographic maps are used to understand the shape of the land, whether a slope will fail, how glaciers are changing, and geologic history, among many other things. Geoscientists make and use them to construct geologic maps, to find the best building sites, to estimate where flooding will take place, and to determine the best site for archeological or paleontological digs."
What does the scale of the map do?
Scale is the relation of the size of the map to the actual size of the area. For example, it helps people understand how far they must hike to get to a particular place or the distance between two points on a road.
Includes U.S. and international along with maps on world cultures and the environment.
Sky maps that are used to study objects like stars, constellations, galaxies, planets, or the earth's moon.
Use maps to discover different cultures and geographic information in different countries and regions.
Includes most countries of the world, regions, and cities of selected countries, and world regions.
Includes individual countries, world regions, and global maps which are all mainly historical with some topographic maps of areas in selected countries.
Includes thematic maps featuring a wide variety of topics like population, environment, and natural resources.
Various series of folded maps were published by the National Park Service (SuDoc # I29), U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (#I49), and Bureau of Land Management (#I53). Located on First Floor West in the Gov. Docs circulating collection. Check the library catalog for holdings.
Includes census maps for Palm Beach, Broward, and Miami-Dade Counties. Located in LY 109, Gov. Docs Office.