LibGuides: HIS 2070: History Writing: Databases & Journals

When to Use Databases vs. Electronic Journals

Are you trying to decide whether to use our Indexes/Databases vs. Electronic Journals?

If you are researching a particular topic and you know the name of the database you want to use click on the following:

Databases
A Database is what is created when a large number of electronic journals are put in one place and a search interface (usually a search box) is added to help find what you need. Both databases and electronic journals can be subject specific. When you have a database that only has the title or abstract, but not the full text, it is usually referred to as an Index.

If you are looking for a specific journal title and want to see if we have access to it then click on the following:

Electronic Journals
An Electronic Journal (or E-journal) is a traditional journal that is in an electronic format; either because it was originally created that way, or because someone took a print journal article and scanned it to make it available electronically.

A Select List of Historical Databases offered at FAU

Indexes & Databases are collections of academic journals and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.

If you are researching a particular topic and you know the name of the database you want to use click on the following:

Indexes/Databases

Below are just a few databases that cover the area of History

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
This resource enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1900 This link opens in a new window
Early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876) and Series II (1758-1900).
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to six (6) simultaneous users.
Covers United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present providing indexing and bibliographic references for the contents of 1,700 journals.

Funded by statewide allocation.
American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922: From the American Antiquarian Society This link opens in a new window
From the comprehensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society, this collection offers printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922 This link opens in a new window
This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society???s holdings of slavery and abolition materials includes works published over the course of more than 100 years. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera; among them are a large number of invaluable Southern imprints.
Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Includes a wide range of original source material, from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through the Black September war of 1970-1. These materials - letters, minutes, reports, maps - are from primary source documents at the National Archives, London.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Open Access
Search through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Subjects include 1960s radicalism, the Motion Picture Production Code, Jewish emigration, Arab-Israeli relations, resettlement in post-War Europe, the Rastafari Movement, and the Holocaust.
Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window
A ProQuest website featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Focuses on historic and contemporary experiences and perspectives of African Americans, including the Black Lives Matter movement.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Open Access
This site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s This link opens in a new window
Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s is a full-text database of the Federal Bureau of Investigation's previously classified files on prominent radicals and radical organizations from 1956 to 1971. It sheds light on internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent American radical groups and their movements to change American government and society.
Florida Digital Newspaper Library This link opens in a new window
Open Access
The Florida Digital Newspaper Library exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida.
Florida Heritage Collection (FHC) This link opens in a new window
Open Access
An ongoing cooperative project of the libraries of the state universities of Florida to digitize and provide online access to materials broadly representing Florida's history, culture, arts, literature, sciences and social sciences. Thematic areas in this growing collection include Native American and minority populations, exploration and development, tourism, the natural environment, and regional interests. Materials are taken from archives, special collections, and libraries of the eleven state universities.
Florida Memory Project This link opens in a new window
Open Access
The Florida Memory Project presents a selection of historical records that illustrate significant moments in Florida history, educational resources for students of all ages and archival collections for historical research. The Project utilizes selected original records, photographs and other materials from the collections of the State Library and Archives of Florida.
Florida Newspaper Database This link opens in a new window
Indexing to news resources from around the state. Includes some full text.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Primary Sources combines Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online (modules 1-4), The Times Digital Archive, and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, allowing users to search all databases simultaneously. These primary source collections include digitized monographs, personal diaries, manuscripts, photographs, and maps.
Gilded Age This link opens in a new window
The Gilded Age brings primary documents and scholarly commentary together into a searchable collection that is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history.
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
This resource provides electronic access to Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to six (6) simultaneous users.
Indexes journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in a companion database America: History and Life).

Funded by statewide allocation.
Historical Atlanta Daily World This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center provides the full-text backfile, from 1910 to 1975, of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
Historical Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page and article images from the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.
Historical Pittsburgh Courier This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
CQ Press Historic Documents This link opens in a new window
Off-campus access problems with Sage. Please follow these instructions for a temporary reroute:

After clicking the link above, click “Institution” in the top, right corner of the resulting webpage.
Then, click “Access via Your Institution”.
Type ‘Florida Atlantic University’ and hit ‘continue’. Choose the CQ Press Books module. 'Series' tab. 'Historic Documents' subtab.

In CQ Historic Documents Series Online Edition, you can find the entire collection of the acclaimed Historic Documents print editions. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968 This link opens in a new window
This collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry through The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files.
Images of America: A History of American Life in Images and Texts This link opens in a new window
Contains historical images and texts from Arcadia Publishing's series of local history books, covering thousands of towns and cultural groups in all 50 states. All of the images and texts have been indexed, enabling users to explore the depth of a town's history or to compare the histories of various towns, cultures, ethnic groups, architectural features, and more.
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 This link opens in a new window
This collection of original source materials explores the history of Jewish communities in America. The material is based on a variety of original manuscript collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York, digitized and organized into six major collections and twenty-four collections of personal papers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text.
Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Composed of content from over 400 journals, this resource covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
NAACP Papers (History Vault) This link opens in a new window
The NAACP Papers collection consists of 6 modules containing internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. These documents chart the NAACP's work, with a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972; this covers the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Voting Rights Act of 1965, and beyond.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
Includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants.
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window
Brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
U.S. History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides coverage of both the current thinking and events in U.S. History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
Women and Social Movements in the United States Scholar's Edition This link opens in a new window
The resource, which examines perspectives on women's social movements from Colonial times to the present, brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. This edition includes the Women's Commission Reports.

Theses and Dissertations

Find theses and dissertations from FAU and other colleges and universities!

Dissertations & Theses @ Florida Atlantic University This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window

FAU Faculty Theses & Dissertations

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!

Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.

OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!

More information can be found here OpenAthens
How To Use OpenAthens
OpenAthens Video Tutorials