Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
International Education Week 2020
During International Education Week (IEW), November 16-20, we celebrate the benefits of international education and exchange worldwide. This event is a joint initiative of the U.S. Department of State and the U.S. Department of Education. This page provides information and resources to help you discover the world, countries, cultures, and people.
Prepare to Study Abroad
Image via EdWiseInternational.com
Image via OdysseyOnline.com
Government Information on Nations & The World
Information for special categories of travel from the U.S. Department of State.
Find country specific information for every country of the world, location of the U.S. embassy and offices provided by U.S. Department of States.
World Fact Book
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
World Data Atlas
Find world and regional statistics, national data, maps, and rankings.
UNESCO Multimedia Archives
Fascinating resource which makes available to the public audio-visual materials on many different countries' cultures and history.
Country Studies by Library of Congress
This series by the Federal Research Division presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS)
The primary resource for cross-nationally comparable statistics for more than 200 countries and territories.
Access various European statistics, including economy, finance, population, social conditions, and more.
Find global information and news in this intergovernmental organization.
Official website of the European Union.
Organization of American States (OAS)
Find library of documents and information about member countries.
UN database from the United Nations Statistics Division.
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data, like GDP, population.
In House Print Collection
Use our library catalog to look for more printed government information resources, and useto locate more maps in the map collection.
FAU Library Databases
Learn about countries, cultures, and languages with these library databases (use Off Campus Connect if not on campus).
Global Road Warrior
Provides access to country information in various categories such as communications, society, culture, etiquette, cuisine, historical sites, and much more.
Online self-paced language learning system covering over 40 languages and including 16 ESL classes taught in the native language.
A growing collection of videos in a variety of subject areas such as nursing, business, science, and film studies, and from a number of producers including California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation (MEF), Symptom Media, and more.
Business Source Premier
Provides full-text country profiles and reports which provide analysis on the political, economic, social, technological, legal and environmental structures of different countries.
A practical reference guide to the operating conditions, commercial laws and business regulations in more than 50 countries.
Online access to all the books, reports, databases and more produced by Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).
Study in the U.S.
How to Study in the U.S.
Find information on studying in the U.S. as a foreign student.
The U.S. Department of State network that provides resources and services to international students and higher education community.
Find information about the process and rules for studying in the U.S. as an international students.
U.S. Network for Education Information
Find information and links about coming to the U.S., qualifications, and more.
Provides contacts for state departments of education and local education agencies.