Skip to Main Content
We are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides. If you have any questions or concerns about this process please let us know.

Florida Statutes and Laws of Florida

Welcome to the Florida Statues and Laws Subject Guide. This guide will provide you the research access to links to the current Florida Legislature, Florida Statues, Florida Laws, and the Florida Constitution. You will also find links to historical Florida Documents to provide a historic perspective on the evolution of Florida Law.  This guide is merely for informational and research purposes, it is not intended to provide legal advice or interpretation of the law. 

The Florida Legislature 

Coat of arms or logo

The Florida Legislature is the legislature of the U.S. State of Florida. It is organized as a bicameral body composed of an upper chamber, the Senate, and a lower chamber, the House of Representatives. Article III, Section 1 of the Florida Constitution, adopted in 1968, defines the legislature's role and how it should be constituted. The legislature is composed of 160 state legislators (120 in the House and 40 in the Senate). The legislature's primary purpose is to enact new laws and amend or repeal existing ones. It meets in the Florida State Capitol building in Tallahassee.

For more information on Florida Statutes, Florida Laws, and the Florida State Constitution, see: 

Go to           Go to

                         Florida Senate                   Florida House of Representatives        


Additional Important Links:

Last updated on Feb 23, 2024 3:31 PM