Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Linking Specific Types of Non-Library Resources
Due to copyright and other barriers, please do NOT embed a PDF file or other full-text sources (e.g., e-book or journal article) directly into the Canvas LMS (Learning Management System).
Here are some options available to provide access to a full-text source that is NOT from FAU Libraries:
Link to an e-book.
- Link directly to the full text of an open access or web-accessible e-book.
- Use a permalink when available. If not available, use HTML hyperlink.
- Please check the HTML link for reliability.
Link to an Open Access Database.
- Locate the database.
- Copy and paste the URL of the database. Links copied in this manner can then be pasted directly into your LMS.
Link to an Open Access Journal.
- If an Open Access journal is available, click on the journal source link (see directions above), and copy and paste it into your LMS.
Link to a specific article.
- Provide a direct link to the full text of an open access or web-accessible article.
- Use a permalink or DOI (Digital Object Identifier) when available.
Link to YouTube or other Open Access media.
- When in YouTube, click on "embed" under the video.
- Copy the URL and insert it into your LMS to guide students to the selected video,
- Some works can be embedded directly. Check the copyright permissions for your rights for each item. Use the Video Embed icon on the toolbar in Canvas to embed the item.
Link to an RSS Feed from an Open Access electronic journal.
- Locate the RSS Feed to which to link.
- Copy and paste the URL of the RSS Feed into your LMS.
Link to a digital library collection or institutional repository.
- To link to an item in a library digital collection or institutional repository, contact the digital collection manager of the institution where it resides to obtain a PURL (permanent URL) for the item.
- For technical assistance or other problems with Canvas, visit the FAU Canvas page.
- OR click on "Help" on the menu bar when logged into Canvas.
- According to FAU OIT's Canvas FAQs, Canvas can be used with the last two versions of every browser release. Instructors are highly recommended to have the latest updates of their preferred browsers and also have the most up-to-date Flash plug-in.
- Canvas supports these popular web browsers and versions of Flash (as of October 2016):
- Internet Explorer 11 and Edge.
- Chrome 52 and 53
- Safari 9 and 10
- Firefox 48 and 49 (Extended Releases are not supported)
- Flash 22 and 23 (used for recording or viewing audio/video and uploading files)
- Respondus Lockdown Browser (supporting the latest system requirements
Sample RSS Feed
RSS Feed from DOAJ
(Directory of Open Access Journals)