Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
CREDO Module 6
Citations & Academic Integrity
So you have to prepare an annotated bibliography. What is it, and how do you go about preparing one? Check some of the links below for both general and detailed answers.
Examples of Annotated Bibliographies
Examples of and Best Practices for
Other University Undergraduate Writing Centers
Many other U.S. universities also have excellent undergraduate writing centers. Check these out for more information.
Citation Creating Tools for Free
Please keep in mind that the following tools are not perfect. It is highly recommended that you verify the accuracy of any citations produced by these tools using the citation style's official manual.
Many of these citation tools also allow you to import and/or export citations between them and other citation tools.
A free online citation creator that will store more than one citation at a time. You may search their database for your resource and if it's there, a citation will be created automatically. Covers APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian.
Another free online citation creator. Covers APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian.
CrossRef - Free DOI Lookup
Search this database to locate the unique Digital Object Identifier (DOI) for your article citiation. The CrossRef system currently provides three ways for you to retrieve an individual DOI.
EasyBib: Free Automatic Bibliography and Citation Maker
Generate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats for your bibliography.
KnightCite Citation Service (From Calvin College)
Enter information into the citation maker and choose your citation style. Copy the resulting citation to your work. See FAQs for more info.
Mendeley (also see separate tab above)
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. It is used especially by people in the sciences. Free to use, with upgraded storage also available.
Free online tools that can create only one citation at a time based on information you provide about the source you are trying to cite. Premium versions of this software are also available for a fee.
Similar to BibMe, WorksCited4U allows you to search for the source you are trying to cite and if found, will create the citation automatically. Covers APA, MLA, and Chicago.
Zotero: Free Citation and Bibliography Software (also see separate tab above)
Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a program that helps users collect, manage, and cite research sources. It's easy to use, can be used as a web or desktop version (and can sync between the two), and offers many features. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.
What is RefWorks?
This update to RefWorks is a new way to
- collect, manage and organize research papers and documents.
- read, annotate, organize, and cite your research
- collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections.
RefWorks’ drag and drop capability makes it easy and fast to
- upload documents and bibliographic metadata into your library
Save to RefWorks feature allows you to
- capture research from websites with the click of a button.
How to Move to RefWorks (New)
Here's the short version.
- Bookmark the new log-in page: http://refworks.proquest.com
- You may see a link at the top left side of the page to "Move to the newest version of RefWorks from ProQuest." Click on that, OR you may be prompted to create a new account as soon as you try to log into RefWorks.
- Create a new login name and password. NOTE: Your login name should be your FAU email address - and you can set your own password.
- Your references, file attachments, folders, and custom output styles will automatically be moved to your new RefWorks account.
- Install the new "Save to RefWorks" browser bookmarklet to capture reference data (and sometimes even full-text) from web pages. (Click on your name in the upper right-hand corner, choose "Tools," then "Install Save to RefWorks" and drag the new Save to RefWorks bookmarklet onto your browser's favorites bar.