Databases

academic journals

When to Use Databases vs. Electronic Journals

Are you trying to decide whether to use our Indexes/Databases vs. Electronic Journals?

If you are researching a particular topic and you know the name of the database you want to use click on the following:

Databases
A Database is what is created when a large number of electronic journals are put in one place and a search interface (usually a search box) is added to help find what you need. Both databases and electronic journals can be subject specific. When you have a database that only has the title or abstract, but not the full text, it is usually referred to as an Index.

If you are looking for a specific journal title and want to see if we have access to it then click on the following:

Electronic Journals
An Electronic Journal (or E-journal) is a traditional journal that is in an electronic format; either because it was originally created that way, or because someone took a print journal article and scanned it to make it available electronically.

Databases

Indexes and Databases are collections of academic journals and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.

Below is a list of FAU Indexes and Databases that cover matters relating to Communications

(For a brief description of the resource just hover your cursor over the link.)

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Access World News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies, and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources including the including the Miami Herald, Palm Beach Post, and others.
Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes literature from the field of communication and other relevant disciplines. Subjects include general communication, communication theory, interpersonal and intrapersonal communication, international literature in film studies, crisis communication, public opinions, and more.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
This resource is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Film Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Open Access
This resource contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews.
Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968 This link opens in a new window
This collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry through The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text.
Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Also see Historical New York Times.
Provides coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions and presidential press conference transcripts.
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Popular Magazines (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Popular Magazines includes 1000 of the most searched magazines across the Gale InfoTrac products. Included are titles like Consumer Reports, Time, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Vanity Fair, US News and World Report, Vogue, Fortune, Business Week, National Review, Cosmopolitan, NPR and Oprah.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
An all-inclusive list of databases availble to FAU from this vendor.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Coverage of national, international, and local news. The Washington Post is renowned for its political reporting, editorials and columnists.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

Academic Journals

An Electronic Journal (or E-journal) is a traditional journal that is in an electronic format; either because it was originally created that way, or because someone took a print journal article and scanned it to make it available electronically. To see if we have access to an electronic journal that is not listed below, click here to search. Electronic Journal Search

Below is a list of Academic Journals that cover the area of Communication and Multimedia

(For a brief description of the resource just hover your cursor over the link.)

Theses and Dissertations

Find theses and dissertations from FAU and other colleges and universities!

Dissertations & Theses @ Florida Atlantic University This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window

FAU Faculty Theses & Dissertations

OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!

Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.

OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!

More information can be found here OpenAthens
How To Use OpenAthens
OpenAthens Video Tutorials

Last updated on Feb 28, 2024 12:39 PM - Guide Creator(s)

COM 6400: Introduction to Grad Studies in Communication

Databases

academic journals

When to Use Databases vs. Electronic Journals

Databases

Locating Full-Text Articles

Academic Journals

Theses and Dissertations

OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!