LibGuides: Citations: MLA 9th ed. (2021)

MLA Handbook, 9th edition

Created by the Modern Language Association, MLA is most often used by the Humanities. The MLA Handbook can be found in the FAU libraries in Boca Raton. .

MLA Handbook. 9th ed., Modern Language Association, 2021.
REF LB2369 .G53 2021 (At Boca Raton Campus Services Desk in Reserves)

Also see resources for the MLA Handbook, 8th edition.

Creating an MLA Research Paper (9th edition)

FAU Libraries recommend verifying the accuracy of citations by consulting the rules of an appropriate style guide.

MLA Style Center (9th ed.)
Writing resources from the Modern Language Association - publishers of the MLA Handbook
Formatting your Paper
The following guidelines have been widely adopted by instructors and educational institutions to standardize manuscript formatting, making it easier for instructors to evaluate papers and theses and for writers to focus on making decisions about their research, ideas, and prose. Follow the directions of your instructor, school, or publisher if you are asked to use different formatting guidelines.
Citations by Format
Examples from the MLA.org site showing how to cite five basic source types: Books; Online works; Songs, recordings, and performances; Movies, videos, and television shows; Images.
MLA Citation Guide
University of Alberta, Augustana Campus
CrossRef - Free DOI Lookup
Search this database to locate the unique Digital Object Identifier (DOI) for your article citiation. The CrossRef system currently provides three ways for you to retrieve an individual DOI.
Teaching Resources
Lesson plans, teaching tips, writing resources, and other teaching resources.

Differences between MLA 8 and MLA 9

What's New in the 9th Edition
Published in April 2021, the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook works as both a textbook and a reference guide.
How does the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook compare with the eighth edition?
MLA Made Easy: Top 10 changes from the 8th to 9th edition of MLA Style (video, 9 minutes)

MLA Annotated Bibliographies

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography (Cornell University Library)
Also available in Spanish translation, near bottom of page (Tambíen disponible en español: Cómo Preparar una Bibliografía Anotada).
MLA Annotated Bibliography (Morehead State University)
MLA Annotated Bibliography (OWL at Purdue)
This site explains how to write an annotated bibliography for multiple citation styles. See the examples specifically about MLA style.
MLA Annotated Bibliography (Skyline College)

MLA for Spanish

Last updated on Apr 3, 2023 9:22 AM