Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

HIS 3150: Historical Methods - Dr. Shannon: Obtaining Resources Beyond the walls of FAU

Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD)

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - With Image

Interlibrary Loan Books

Request to borrow books, journals, or other items not available at FAU!

How long does it take?

  • Articles - 2 or more business days
  • Loans - 7 or more business days
  • Branch Campus Delivery adds 2 to 3 days
  • International or Rare & hard-to-find materials may take longer

Google Scholar

Need help using Google Scholar? Check here

Some articles listed in Google Scholar are available from FAU in Full Text.

If FAU does not have access to full text of the article, please use Interlibrary Loan to request a copy of the article for your use.  

Google Scholar Search

Mission

ILL Mission Statement

The mission of the Interlibrary Loan Department is to support the research and teaching needs of the Florida Atlantic University Community, by expanding the range of materials available for scholarship beyond the physical and electronic collections of the FAU Libraries. The department provides article delivery and short term loans from a vast network of libraries and document suppliers on a local, statewide, national, and international basis. 

Purpose

Statement of Purpose

The Interlibrary Loan unit is an integral part of the Florida Atlantic University Libraries.  It exists to support both the University and Library missions. 

* ILL accomplishes this by locating, obtaining, and providing research materials that are not available in the library’s collections.

* ILL fills gaps in the collections, supports advanced research, and fills specific needs as the internal and external environments morph and change.

* ILL supports the social good by providing resources to schools, governmental agencies, and businesses throughout the region. 

* ILL builds relationships with other information providers, throughout the world, to support University and Library stakeholder needs and expectations.

Find Books Beyond FAU

The WorldCat database is the most comprehensive bibliography, with over 179 million bibliographic records representing over 400 languages and covering over 4,000 years of knowledge.  It allows you to search a combined catalog of most of the libraries in North America, and many in other parts of the world.

Library of Congress collections contain over 158 million books, periodicals, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources. More than 18 million records describing these collections are located in the LC Online Catalog. You can search these records by keyword or browse by authors/creators, subjects, name/titles, uniform titles, and call numbers. Browse lists also include searching aids such cross-references and scope notes.

UBorrow

UBorrow

UBorrow is a loan service that allows FAU students, faculty, and staff to directly request materials from participating libraries within Florida's state University/College library system. Currently, you can only request books via UBorrow.

How to Use UBorrow

  • When searching the FAU Library Catalog, click on the blue UBorrow link towards the top right corner of the search results page.

  • This will take you to the State University/College Libraries catalog, showing all the available items within Florida's university/college system.

  • If you want an item, click on the UBorrow icon below the book title, then provide your Owl Card number, and select where you want to pick up your book.

  • You will receive an email in a few days letting you know that your book is ready for you to pick up at the Service Desk at the library.

Need more information?  See the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) pages about UBorrow or watch this short video on UBorrow.

Search Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Books (previously known as Google BookSearch and Google Print) is a service from Google, Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition (OCR), and stored in its digital database.