Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

HIS 3150: Historical Methods - Dr. Shannon: Databases and Academic Journals

Academic Journals

Academic Journal Word Map by ELSEVIER

When to Use Databases vs. Electronic Journals

Are you trying to decide whether to use our Databases vs. Electronic Journals?

If you are researching a particular topic and you know the name of the database you want to use click on the following:  

If you are looking for a specific journal title and want to see if we have access to it then click on the following: 

Off Campus Connect - computer image

If you are using FAU's online resources from off campus, please authenticate yourself by logging in at Off Campus Connect.

Cold War and Beyond: The Beginning and Evolving Crisis 1945 - 1957

Evaluating Journals

How to Read a Journal Article

Click here for a short article on how to effectively

  • read, 
  • skim,
  • evaluate and
  • find information in articles!

Declassified, Bay of Pigs

Indexes/Databases

Scholarly Journals

Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field.  They are known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals.  Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.

Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

Cold War and Beyond, 2, Sputnik, Cuba, Vietnam 1957-1968

Google Scholar

Need help using Google Scholar? Check here

Some articles listed in Google Scholar are available from FAU in Full Text.

If FAU does not have access to full text of the article, please use Interlibrary Loan to request a copy of the article for your use.  

Google Scholar Search