Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

HIS 3150: Historical Methods - Dr. Shannon: Getting Started

Basic Library Services

Learn more about basic library services available at the campus libraries of Florida Atlantic University.

Government Information and Maps Department

Materials in the Government Documents Collection are located in the West Wing on the First Floor of the S.E. Wimberly Library. The library catalog can be searched to identify these resources.

Assistance from the Government Information and Maps Department staff is available in Room LY 109.

HOURS:

Monday-Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00PM

Additional hours by appointment.

PHONE:

561-297-3788

Special Collections @FAU

 

The Special Collections & Archives Department welcomes the use of its collections. In order to utilize the collections, researchers are asked to write, call, or e-mail before they visit. Hours are from 9:30 AM - 4:00 PM, Monday through Thursday, or by appointment. Please visit and use our new online Finding Aids Repository!

Access Services

Get help from Access Services Department at their Service Desk, located to the right of the stairs in Wimberly Library. The staff there do much more then just check out books. They are the ones who  

  • answer your questions or refer you to a librarian for additional help,
  • can activate your Owl Card (important when attempting to log in through Off Campus Connect/EZproxy),
  • handle all materials that your professors have put on reserves,
  • work with Textbook Reserves, and
  • are in charge of the study rooms and their availability.

Access Services Department is open all times that Wimberly Library is open. 

Interlibrary Loan Department

 

If you have looked in the catalog and in the databases and still cannot find the material that you are looking for, or if you know the specific name of the book or article that you are trying to find that you know is not at FAU, you can use Interlibrary loan (ILL).

Use Interlibrary Loan Services to: 
  • Retrieve FAU Materials from other campuses
  • Request materials from other State University Libraries via UBorrow
  • Request Articles and Book Chapters
  • Request loan of items not owned by FAU

Interlibrary Loan Video

UBorrow Video

Instruction and Engagement Services (photo)

Instruction and Engagement Services staff provide assistance to the FAU community in using both the electronic and print collection resources. 

See our DIY LibGuide and Video Tutorials when you have questions on how to use the library, do research, and find information. 

Media Center

To check out DVDs, videos, CDs, audiotapes and more, visit the Media Center in room 122.

*  iPads available for loan!

*  Laptop computers (PCs and Mac) are available for in-library use only.

*  FLIP video cameras and scientific calculators can also be borrowed here.

*  Anatomic models are available for checkout and use in the library.

*  If the Media Center is closed, please visit the Service Desk for assistance.