Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
FAU Libraries General & Biological Sciences Databases
Many science disciplines utilize information from the social sciences and other areas. Use the following links to find related information sources:
GeoRef Contains earth science references and the index terms that describe them. Indexes many journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, and reports.
Web of Science Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Elsevier ScienceDirect More than 2,000 scholarly journals in engineering, science, and social science disciplines.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection (Proquest) The collection contains aquatic science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA).
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (Proquest) The collection contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM).
SciTech Premium Collection (Proquest) This collection covers science and technology research, combining full-text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology.
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests This database provides detailed abstracts and indexing of the hundreds of environmental impact statements issued each year by the federal government. EIS extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts.
PALMM Collection Open Access
Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials (PALMM) is a cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship. PALMM projects may involve a single university or may be collaborative efforts between a university and partners within or outside of the state university system. PALMM projects create high-quality virtual collections relevant to the students, research community and general citizenry of Florida.
Linking Florida's Natural Heritage Open Access
LIBRARY COLLECTIONS: Everglades Online; Florida Environments Online; FORMIS Ant Bibliography; LFNH Core Collection; Sea Turtle Bibliography; SUS Library Catalogs. MUSEUM COLLECTIONS: Icthyology Collection (Florida Museum of Natural History); Herpetology Collection (Florida Museum of Natural History); Bird Specimen Collection (Tall Timbers Research Station) (For information about the collections click here).
Everglades Digital Library: Reclaiming the Everglades Open Access
Nearly 10,000 page images of primary source materials relating to south Florida environmental history are accessible here. This digitized documentary evidence spans the years 1884 to present and covers topics such as the establishment of the Everglades National Park, Native American land rights, agriculture, urban development, endangered species, invasive plants, and the role of women in the modern conservation movement.
JSTOR More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines, as well as over 500 Spanish-language e-books. Most full-text access is archival, some current full text.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, and education.
Global Newsstream Search international, national and regional newspapers including current access to the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Sun-Sentinel and the Palm Beach Post.
Florida Digital Newspaper Library Open Access
The Florida Digital Newspaper Library exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida.
Off Campus Connect
If you are using FAU's online resources from off campus, please authenticate yourself by logging in at Off Campus Connect.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.