Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides. If you have any questions or concerns about this process please let us know.

Library User Guide: Medical Residents

Where Can I Find...?

A-Z guide for all FAU databases. Find the full list of all Medical, Nursing, and Health Sciences databases by using the subject filter option.

Books are also available via FAU Library's  database resources listed below.

Guidelines can be found within the following FAU Library Databases. 

Read by QxMD​

'Read by QxMD' provides a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific research, read outstanding topic reviews and search PubMed. Users will need to sign into app with their FAU credentials. Once verified, QxMD can remain logged in per the user's preference. 

Features: 

  • Get full text PDFs with one tap
  •  Keep up with the latest new research that will impact your practice
  •  Browse through 1000s of outstanding topic reviews
  •  Search millions of articles from PubMed and our database of outstanding topic reviews
  •  Read your favorite journals or browse article collections.
  •  Access full text through your university/institutional subscription or via open access publishers
  •  Share articles with colleagues over email, Twitter and Facebook
  •  Organize and review your personal collection of articles
  •  Earn CME credit. 

FAU Residents now have access to UTD on and off campus via the library.

Check out the UpToDate support page which covers:  

  •  Access via OpenAthens
  •  Creating an UTD account
  •  Re-verifing every 90 days from off campus
  • Mobile app information

Please note: UpToDate is to be used for FAU educational purposes only. Please do not share your UpToDate or FAU credentials with anyone. Access to UpToDate is limited to FAU FULL-TIME employees and medical students, and will be monitored for unauthorized use.

COM Support: https://comsupport.fau.edu/  

Access COM Support Center's  Knowledge base, create a ticket for Tech help, access software links and downloads. 

New! The Library is now available via COM Support for tickets as well! Simply choose the library from the department drop down and one of us will respond as soon as possible. 

Are There Resources the Library Recommends for Residents?

FAU Libraries maintains an annual subscription to BMJ Case Reports, and are provided a fellowship code which waives the author submission fee for FAU residents, affiliate faculty, faculty, and students. Please contact Tiffany Follin, or the medical department, for the code. 

Instructions for Authors regarding writing and submission are available HERE

 

FAU libraries no longer offers DynaMed, however ACP members are able to access Dynamed Plus via the ACP. 

Please see the below link for more information: 

https://www.acponline.org/clinical-information/clinical-resources-products/dynamed-plus-a-free-benefit-for-acp-members 

 

   

AMA  members are eligible for 18 months of complimentary full access, while JAMA subscribers are eligible for 9 months complimentary full access. To sign in or create an account, see the below link: 

https://offers.jamanetwork.com/ 

 

Citi Program

 Register as an independent user to take courses on research ethics, compliance, and professional development education. 

 

Cochrane Podcasts are 5-minute reviews of recent Cochrane-Reviews, delivered by the author. Podcasts are available via the website's complete catalog or through iTunes. 

    Mango Connect 

iOSAndroid

Download the app to get your first language in any language for free. Link your profile to FAU Libraries to gain full access to Mango content. 

Medicial Spanish lessons are available in both the website and app version. 

 

Mayo Clinic Proceedings is available through ClinicalKey. 

  1.  From off campus, sign into ClinicalKey with your FAUNetID.
  2. In the search bar, use the drop down to change "All types" to "Journals", and type in "mayo clinic proceedings."
  3. Your results will contain a gray box: choose to view the current edition or all journal volumes. 

  

Access to NEJM Resident 360 website is free to all learners, however, access to the Rotational Prep content now requires subscription to NEJM Knowledge+ which the library does not provide. 

For information on purchasing an individual subscription, visit NEJM Knowledge+

undefined

 

SPSS is provided by the university via the apps store: University apps store

If needed, additional support can be found here on the University Instructions and Guides page. 

 

Evidence based, peer-reviewed, bi-weekly publication evaluating pharmaceutical drugs. CME credits are available: earn up to 52 credits per year. 

https://secure.medicalletter.org/subTML

Do You Have Video Tutorials?

YouTube channel offering videos on various topics from how to access a resource to conducting a search using a specific database.

How Do I use...?

Point of Care Tutorials are available for the following databases:

  • AccessMedicine/AccessPediatrics 
  • ClinicalKey
  • UpToDate
Last updated on Nov 22, 2022 2:39 PM