LibGuides: HIS 4935 Senior Seminar: The Rise of Adolf Hitler / Dr. Kollander: Databases & Journals

When to Use Databases vs. Electronic Journals

Are you trying to decide whether to use our Indexes/Databases vs. Electronic Journals?

If you are researching a particular topic and you know the name of the database you want to use click on the following:

Databases
A Database is what is created when a large number of electronic journals are put in one place and a search interface (usually a search box) is added to help find what you need. Both databases and electronic journals can be subject specific. When you have a database that only has the title or abstract, but not the full text, it is usually referred to as an Index.

If you are looking for a specific journal title and want to see if we have access to it then click on the following:

Electronic Journals
An Electronic Journal (or E-journal) is a traditional journal that is in an electronic format; either because it was originally created that way, or because someone took a print journal article and scanned it to make it available electronically.

Indexes/Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online brings together over 40 multidisciplinary video collections from Alexander Street Press, covering art and architecture, diversity, health sciences, history, music and performing arts, psychology and counseling, sciences and engineering, and social sciences. See separate collection titles and the mulitmedia platform -Alexander Street Press- within our A-Z Database List.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
An all-inclusive list of databases available to FAU from this vendor.
Historical Atlanta Daily World This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center provides the full-text backfile, from 1910 to 1975, of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
Historical Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window
The Amsterdam News was founded as a six-page weekly covering local news by James Henry Anderson in 1909. Under the ownership of C. B. Powell and Philip M. H. Savory from 1938, it became the largest black community weekly in the United States. Contributors to the newspaper have included W. E. B. Du Bois, Roy Wilkins and Malcolm X.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page and article images from the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.
Historical Pittsburgh Courier This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly and for each article cited in the database, an abstract of up to 75 words is included. This resource offers the complete pages images from the entire run of the paper, dating back to the first 1889 issue .
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text.
Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
NYPL Digital Gallery This link opens in a new window
Open Access
NYPL Digital Gallery is the New York Public Library's image database, developed to provide free and open online access to thousands of images from the original and rare holdings of the Research Libraries. Spanning a wide range of visual media, NYPL Digital Gallery offers digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and more. Encompassing the subject strengths of the vast collections of the Research Libraries, these materials represent the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Provides the tools for searching the Congressional Record, finding members of Congress, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, and searching Congressional hearings, the Federal Register, the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection, Congressional committee schedules, Committee Prints and Miscellaneous Publications, and Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!

Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.

OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!

More information can be found here OpenAthens
How To Use OpenAthens
OpenAthens Video Tutorials