Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Databases to use when researching topics in Health Administration:
ABI/INFORM Collection (Global, Archive, Dateline, Trade & Industry)
Includes details on virtually every aspect of business, including company histories, competitive intelligence, and new product development. ABI/INFORM contains bibliographic citations and 25-150 word summaries of articles appearing in professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide. The full text of articles is included for about 550 of the 1,000 journals.
Business Insights: Essentials
Includes company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and full-text articles.
IBISWorld is a comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. Reports consist of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants, and more.
Academic One File
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, health care, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Covers all things related to the U.S. Congress: including status of bills, votes and amendments, and floor and committee activity. Choose a topic and all related issues and activities will be listed.
Health and Wellness (Gale)
Contains topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. This database also includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals and newspapers.
Provides the tools for searching the Congressional record, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, searching the Federal Register, Congressional committee schedules, finding members of Congress, and searching the National Journal.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
CQ Researcher explores a wide variety of topics, many dealing with public policy issues. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
Health Reference Center - Academic
Provides articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, and Prescription Drugs.
Many journals are available online. However, in some cases the older issues may only be found in print. The library Catalog will help you identify in which format a particular issue can be found. The following are online issues of leading journals:
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Journals
Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal. Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.
Need help? Click here.
Government Resources for Health Administration
Official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Florida Administrative Weekly & Florida Administrative Code
Provides access to rules and regulations of state regulatory agencies as well as proposed rules, public meeting notices, and bid proposals.
Agency for Health Care Policy and Research Quality Assessment
Provides searching and links to quality of care, health plan assessment, data, and other health care issues; fact sheets and research reports on elderly health care, health care costs, long-term care, managed care, markets, mental health, primary care, and rural health.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Official site of Executive Department which contains information on most timely topics such as Health Reform and the Swine Flu. Also contains useful section on Policies & Guidelines.
Florida - Agency for Health Care Administration
Search and links to services, health data, publications American Hospital Association
Florida Office of Program Policy Analysis & Government Accountability
Very useful site containing reports on many state sponsored programs. It is possible to search by topic, such as Health and Human services.
Program by which the state of Florida offers dental and health insurance to children through age 18.
Free access from HHS of resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1,400 government and non-profit organizations to present the most reliable health information on the Internet.
FAU Libraries Government Resources
Find information from various government departments and agencies. Includes sites for legal and statistical resources.
Subject Terms for
The following is a partial list of subject headings related to Health Administration that can be used to locate books and other items in the FAU Libraries Catalog.
- Health facilities
- Health policy
- Long Term care
- Managed care plan
- Medical care
Additional Useful Websites