Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Searching for Materials showing Opposing Viewpoints in OneSearch
Using Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT), to further limit ideas, concepts and topics. Use one or more of the following with your topic to narrow down an aspect of your topic.
- crimes against
- health aspects
- (laws or regulations)
- political aspects
- psychological aspects
- public opinion
- religious aspects
- social policy
- statistical data
Remember to use "quotation marks" around phrases to search for words as phrases.
Databases for Current Events and
Academic Search Complete
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science, and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspaper articles regarding arts and humanities, social sciences and science and technology disciplines.
General OneFile (Gale)
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
This database covers today's hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration. It includes pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary documents, biographies, periodical articles and more. This is a good source for students to start research or analysis of an issue, to complete writing assignments, prepare for a debate, or create a presentation.
ProCon.org is a free website that presents nonpartisan research on important social issues in a primarily pro-con format.
SIRS Knowledge Source
A reference source which includes access to SIRS Issues Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, SIRS Renaissance, and SIRS WebSelect.
CQ Researcher Latest Articles
Need help finding a topic?
Debatabase is a very useful resource for student debaters. Inside you will find arguments for and against hundreds of debating topics, written by expert debaters, judges and coaches. Also included are background summaries, links to websites of interest and recommended books.
The Urban Institute
In the mid-1960s, President Johnson saw the need for independent nonpartisan analysis of the problems facing America's cities and their residents. The President created a blue-ribbon commission of civic leaders who recommended chartering a center to do that work. In 1968, the Urban Institute became that center.