Skip to main content

Special Collections and University Archives: Plan Your Visit

Resources available at Wimberly Library

What's in this Archive?

Special Collections materials and archival items including photographs, video recordings, manuscripts and personal papers are usually listed in a finding aid.

What is a Finding Aid?

A finding aid is a tool designed to assist researchers locate archival materials within a collection.  Finding aids may include scope and content of a collection, how materials were collected, background information of the donor, and listing of materials.  This inventory is processed and described at folder level.  

To access our finding aids, please go to FAU's ArchivesSpace Repository

Before your visit

The special collections staff is happy to assist students, faculty and researchers with their requests. Please explore our website and the collections pages to narrow your search and prepare your request. Successful researchers generally email their requests so that staff can clarify research questions and retrieve items before your appointment, or perhaps help you by email without requiring a visit.

You will not be allowed to have bags, briefcases, purses, portfolios, notebooks, legal pads, pens and other such items while researching. We will provide a secure location nearby for you to leave these items if you have them with you. Laptop computers, digital cameras, and cell phones may be permitted. Special collections staff will examine the book, papers, etc., and determine whether it can be scanned or photocopied, based on condition. If you wish to have materials scanned, the FAU Digital Library will process your request.

Access to the Collections

Special Collection materials are fragile, valuable, and in many cases, irreplaceable. Although the library strives to make access as easy as possible, the Library has taken certain measures to protect these items. Therefore, researchers should anticipate a time delay between requests and access of at least 48 hours.

Patron Requests

Requests to use special collections materials may be made by phone, email or in person, please fill out the Patron Request Form.