Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Off Campus Connect
Your Owl Card enables you to check out books and to access materials online through Off Campus Connect (EZ Proxy). Make sure to activate your Owl Card at the Service Desk.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Journals
Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal. Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.
Need help? Click here.
Why would I use a database?
Databases are great for finding information for your research paper. In the databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.
Academic Search Complete
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Includes Humanities Full Text, Humanities Index Retrospective and additional content.
Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
This database covers today's hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration. It includes pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary documents, biographies, periodical articles and more. This is a good source for students to start research or analysis of an issue, to complete writing assignments, prepare for a debate, or create a presentation.
Search international, national and regional newspapers including current access to the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Sun-Sentinel and the Palm Beach Post.
Subscription to this database ends June 30, 2021.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.