Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

Library "Do-It-Yourself" (DIY)

I am looking for newspaper articles

Newspapers include:

  • Coverage of current or very recent events
  • Eyewitness accounts of an event
  • In-depth coverage of local issues (in local or regional newspapers) 
  • The public's reaction to a specific event or issue
  • The media's current portrayal, or portrayal over time, of a specific issue

Many newspapers are on the open Web, but some have paywalls for older issues or offer a limited amount of free access per month. 

Accessing newspapers through the Libraries: 

FAU Libraries provides online access to many newspapers. Search for a newspaper by title in the FAU Libraries Catalog. (Some older historical newspapers may be unavailable online. Contact Ask a Librarian if you need help locating a specific publication.) 

Newspapers can also be found in many of the Libraries' databases. In our largest multidisciplinary database, OneSearch, limit to 'News' (under 'Source Type' on the search results page). 

Select "Newspaper Articles" and see the newspaper icon by an item.

Newspaper Databases

Below are some core newspaper databases. For a more comprehensive list of news databases, see the News & Weather Subject Guide