Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

Geomatics Engineering Guide: Find Articles

What is a database?

Databases are collections of articles and other sources of scholarly information.  They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic.  Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

Selected Databases

                        

IJGIS              GEO-SPATIAL INFORMATION SCIENCE      GEOGRAPHICAL ANALYSIS          GEOGRAPHICAL JOURNAL

 


 


Selected FAU Databases
 
Applied Science and Technology Full Text  | 1983-present | Some Full Text |  
Indexes the latest findings in every area of science, engineering, and technology covering trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals. Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in March 1993.  Full Text coverage begins in 1997.
 
Compendex | 1884-present |  
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Compendex contains over 8 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications. Coverage is from 1969 to present and the database is updated weekly. Combined with the Engineering Index Backfile, the database includes over 9.7 million records and spans back to 1884.
 
GeoRef   | 1785-present | Some Full Text | 
Contains earth science references and the index terms that describe them. Indexes many journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, and reports.
 

IEEE Xplore:IEEE/IEL Electronic Library  | 1988-present with select content back to 1952 | Full Text |
IEEE/Institution of Engineering and Technology Journals, Conference Proceedings, and Standards from 1988 to the present.

Oceanic Abstracts   |1981 - present |  
Oceanic Abstracts is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. The journal has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans.

Web of Science
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Selected Journals

Applied Geomatics (1866-9298)

Cartographica  (0317-7173)  

GeoWorld  (1528-6274) 

 

GIScience & Remote Sensing (1548-16030) (formerly Mapping Sciences and Remote Sensing) (0749-3878)

 

International Journal of Geomatics and Geosciences (0976-4380)

 

International Journal of Geomechanics   (1943-5622)

 

International Journal of Remote Sensing  (0143-1161)

International Journal of Remote Sensing

 

Journal of Applied Remote Sensing (1931-3195)

 

Professional Geographer  (0033-0124) 

Cover image for Vol. 59 Issue 4