Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

Photography: Books & Exhibition Catalogs

Need more resources?

If you found a great article on your topic, check the "References" or "Works Cited" at the end of the article to find resources used by that author. 

Use the FAU Library Catalog to look for books. For books owned by other State University System libraries, use UBorrow to order and borrow those books. 

To see if FAU Libraries has access to the electronic journal article, type the citation information into "Citation Link."

Exhibition Catalogs

Museums are increasingly making their exhibition catalogs available online, as well as in print. Search for these catalogs in the online FAU Library Catalog or OneSearch, a specific museum or gallery, an artists's website, or by doing a Google or similar search engine site (http://libguides.fau.edu/WebEval-boca/searchengines).  

Examples:

  • Paul Strand Exhibition
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art Photography Exhibition

Similarly, add the word "criticism" to your search terms to search for criticism for a specific photographer, photograph, exhibition, etc. Putting photographer names and titles of photographs or exhibitions within quotation marks forces the computer to look for those words as phrases (see below) and will yield different results than not using quotation marks.

  • Shirin Neshat criticism
  • Shirin Neshat "On Guard" criticism
  • "Shirin Neshat" "Turbulent Series" criticism

More Advanced Searching

Although encyclopedias may not be cited in research papers, they often have bibliographies with good sources that are appropriate to cite. 

Grove Art Online and several other dictionaries and encyclopedias are provided through Oxford Art Online.  

WorldCat & WorldCat Local are also good databases to search by subject or keyword.  When you are trying to verify titles or other bibliographic information, WorldCat is the ultimate source.  It links directly to InterLibrary Loan, so you can request the materials you find in this database if they are not here at FAU.

Looking for Exhibition Information?

If you are looking for exhibition information, try:

You may also wish to search various museums and organizations for "photography exhibitions." 

The BHA and RILA from Getty

THE GETTY PROVIDES FREE ACCESS TO THE BHA ON ITS WEBSITE

As of April 1, 2010, the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is available free of charge on the Getty website. 

BHA on the Getty website offers both basic and advanced search modules and can be searched easily by

  • subject,
  • artist,
  • author,
  • article or journal title, and
  • other elements.

To search BHA, please visit BHA at the Getty website. Note that the database search includes the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering the years 2008 and part of 2009. The Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA), one of the predecessors of BHA, with records that cover 1975–1989, is also available.

The most current material (2008-present) is now available on the International Bibliography of Art.