Skip to main content

Primates: Get Articles

Creating a Basic Search Strategy

Creating a search strategy helps researchers in many ways:

  • a topic is established, helping in clarifying a need for information
  • additional or related keywords can be utilized if certain ones do not yield the type of articles desired
  • search results become refined and precise, resulting in relevant articles.

These are the main steps in creating a search strategy:

1.  Define your topic in a complete phrase or sentence.

What is global warming, what is its cause and how can we control it?

2.  Circle the keywords in your sentence.

global warming, cause, control

3.  Generate synonyms for the keywords listed in #2.

Global warming: climate change, ice melting, El Niño, La Niña   

Cause:  reason, basis, explanation, source, origin

Control:  manage, cope with, deal with, organize, direct, oversee  

4. List the requirements for your articles (do they need to be scholarly, current within a certain number of years, or have other requirements?).

This assignment requires that articles not be older than 5 years old, must be from peer-reviewed article, and each must be at least 3 pages long.

5.  Try some searches!

Off Campus Connect

If you are using FAU's online resources from off campus, please authenticate yourself by logging in at Off Campus Connect (EZproxy).

Use OneSearch to Find Articles

OneSearch

 

Unsure of which database to use?  Use OneSearch to search for articles in all of FAU's databases at one time!

Databases

For the full list of Life Sciences databases, click here.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

What is a database?

Databases (in a library use of the word) are collections of articles and other sources of scholarly information.  They can be searched by using keywords and often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.