Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

ENC 1939 College Writing 2: MLA Citations

Resource guide for Professor Gutting's ENC 1939 Spring 2018 class

MLA Handbook, 8th edition

Created by the Modern Language Association, MLA is most often used by the Humanities. The MLA Handbook can be found in the FAU libraries in Boca Raton and Jupiter.

MLA Handbook. 8th ed., Modern Language Association, 2016.
REF LB2369 .G53 2016

Formatting Works Cited using
MLA Handbook, 8th edition

Creating an MLA Research Paper (8th edition)

FAU Libraries recommend verifying the accuracy of citations by consulting the rules of an appropriate style guide.

Master MLA Citations video workshop

This webinar introduces formatting a paper, creating in-text citations, and documenting sources using MLA citation style. It also provides the reasons students are asked to use MLA.

MLA Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated Bibliographies Basics

from the OWL at Purdue: 

bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "References" or "Works Cited" depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).

An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may do one or more of the following.

  • Summarize: Some annotations merely summarize the source. What are the main arguments? What is the point of this book or article? What topics are covered? If someone asked what this article/book is about, what would you say? The length of your annotations will determine how detailed your summary is.

    For more help, see our handout on paraphrasing sources.

  • Assess: After summarizing a source, it may be helpful to evaluate it. Is it a useful source? How does it compare with other sources in your bibliography? Is the information reliable? Is this source biased or objective? What is the goal of this source?

    For more help, see our handouts on evaluating resources.

  • Reflect: Once you've summarized and assessed a source, you need to ask how it fits into your research. Was this source helpful to you? How does it help you shape your argument? How can you use this source in your research project? Has it changed how you think about your topic?

Your annotated bibliography may include some of these, all of these, or even others. If you're doing this for a class, you should get specific guidelines from your instructor.