Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Why would I use a database?
The World Wide Web can be useful for providing some types of information but often research using databases will provide better sources of information. Some sources in databases include trade journals, industry news sources, general business magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Journals
Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science is a scholarly journal. Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.
Need help? Click here.
ABI/INFORM Collection (Global, Archive, Dateline, Trade & Industry)
Includes details on virtually every aspect of business, including company histories, industry news, competitive intelligence, and new product development.
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research Reports with key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
Business Insights: Essentials
Business Insights: Essentials is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Also find Market Share Reports, SWOT Reports, and Industry information.
Offers access to 11,000 U.S. public companies and 17,000 non-U.S. public companies with past and present financial information.
Business Source Premier
An additional resource for information on companies, industries, and doing business in foreign countries. Also provides sample SWOT reports for companies.
Standard & Poor's (S&P) NetAdvantage
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage provides nine of its most popular publications: Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, Register, Stock Guide, Bond Guide, Earnings Guide, The Outlook, and Dividend Record.
Off Campus Connect
Your Owl Card enables you to check out books and to access materials online through Off Campus Connect (EZ Proxy). Make sure to activate your Owl Card at the Service Desk.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.