Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Subject Terms for Womens Studies
The following is a partial list of subject headings related to Women Studies that can be used to locate books and other items in the FAU Libraries Catalog.
- African American feminists
- African American women
- Feminism and Art
- Feminism and Literature
- Feminist Motion Pictures
- Feminist Criticism
- Feminist Theory
- Mass Media and Women
- Minority Women
- Women Authors, Cuban
- Women, Hawaiian
- Women's Rights--United States
- Women's Studies
American Periodicals (Proquest)
Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Black Women Writers
Black Women Writers celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women's struggles through time.
Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW full-text titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Free index that features citations to journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews about women, sexuality, and gender in the Middle Ages. Books by single authors are not indexed here.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, women's studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
A full-text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
Access is limited to six (6) simultaneous users.
Indexes journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in a companion database America: History and Life).
Includes Humanities Full Text, Humanities Index Retrospective and additional content.
Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.
Latin American Women Writers
A collection of prose, poetry, memoirs, essays, plays, and other materials by Latin American women writers.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries
This collection from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society brings together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts.
MLA International Bibliography
Provides a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations . The indexed materials coverage is international. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
PsycINFO Indexes international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Also see PsycNET.
Web of Science
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Women and Social Movements in the United States Scholar's Edition
The resource, which examines perspectives on women's social movements from Colonial times to the present, brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. This edition includes the Women's Commission Reports.
Off Campus Connect
If you are using FAU's online resources from off campus, please authenticate yourself for off campus access through Off Campus Connect.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.