Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

MMC 6931: Studies in Gender & Sexuality: Lesbian Gay Websites

Guide for Professor Fejes Course

Websites


AfterEllen.com

Lesbian and Bisexual Women in Entertainment and the Media


Alternative Sexualities in Science Fiction and Fantasy

Continually updated bibliography by Mary Anne Mohanraj, who invites submissions from others.


Amazon Country

"Radio serving lesbian and feminist communities for over 25 years."


The Amazonian

"All the News That Hasn't Been Printed" "…a bimonthly paper for the Pioneer Valley lesbian …community created to cover topics of local and national interest to lesbians, including politics, humor, interviews, editorial, and ongoing reader’s forum, and classified ads."


The Cartoon Closet:Jerry Falwell doesn't know the half of it.

By Jacob Weisberg, writing in Slate, 1999. "The first cartoon characters to be accused of aberrant sexual practices were Batman and Robin. …Bugs Bunny In a curious way, gays, their friends, and their enemies have all collaborated in destroying the sexual innocence of cartoon characters by making an issue out of it."


The Commercial Closet

"The World's Largest Collection of Gay Advertising … The Commercial Closet is a unique, non-profit education and journalism project that charts evolving worldwide portrayals of the gay community in the most powerful cultural media of our time – mainstream advertising." Features QuickTime video and storyboards.


Daily News (queertheory.com)

Latest news from over 250 different online News Organizations


Dykes to Watch Out For

Comic strip by Alison Bechdel began its public life in 1983 in the pages of Womanews anc can be seen in over 70 publications today -- and, on the Web of course.

 

The Gaylactic Network Spectrum Awards

The Gaylactic Network Spectrum Awards honor works in science fiction, fantasy and horror which include positive explorations of gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgendered characters, themes, or issues.Ê


Gay TV Listings

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual television program listings undated once a week on Friday. See also TV GAYED: GLAAD's Weekly Guide to What's LGBT on TV


Girlfriends

A "lesbian magazine, [that] covers culture, politics, and sexuality from a lesbian perspective."


GLAAD: Fair, Accurate and Inclusive Representation

"The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) is dedicated to promoting and ensuring fair, accurate and inclusive representation of people and events in the media as a means of eliminating homophobia and discrimination based on gender identity and sexual orientation."


glbtq: an encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisesexual, transgender, & queer culture

"The encyclopedia's Literature, Arts, and Social Sciences Departments feature more than 2.2 million words in nearly 2000 signed entries. Hundreds of complementary illustrations help showcase the lives and contributions of thousands of glbtq people who have influenced society through literature, the arts, law, politics and more."


In The Life

"…is a national television series in a news magazine format that reports on gay and lesbian issues and culture. IN THE LIFE broadcasts on over 120 public television stations nationwide, including all of the top 20 viewer markets, reaching over one million viewers per episode."


In the Family: Creative Work by Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Writers of Color (U. Iowa access only)

From a special issue of Callaloo, 23:1 (Winter 2000) featuring poetry by Alyssa Y. Alston, Cheryl Clarke, Melvin Dixon, Nikky Finney, Jewelle Gomez, Forrest Hamer, E. Patrick Johnson, Audre Lorde, Dawn Lundy Martin, Constance Merritt, Pat Parker, Carl Phillips, and Kate Rushin -- Essays by Melvin Dixon, Alexis De Veaux, Thomas Glave, E. Patrick Johnson, and Darieck Scott -- Iterviews with Melvin Dixon, Samuel R. Delany, Helen Elaine Lee and Audre Lorde.

Additional Websites

Lambda Sci-Fi

An organization devoted to science fiction, fantasy and horror literature, TV and films "for Lesbians, Gay Men, Bisexuals, Transgendered People and their Friends." This site features reviews, discussions and reading lists. Web home of The Gaylactic Network Spectrum Awards


Lesbian FanFiction Index (Xena and Gabrielle)

Part of a larger site, Obsession's Homepage, this section features a large collection of fan fiction based on the TV series, Xena:Warrior Princess, wherein the stories make explicit the subtext of the series. These stories are often graphic and frequently frankly erotic.

 

LesbiaNATION.com

"LesbiaNation is the leading online community dedicated to the celebration of lesbian culture and identity. As a global multimedia medium LesbiaNation aims to enlighten, connect, educate, entertain, distribute goods and services, and provide borderless paths for communication among our visitors. LesbiaNation and it's staff have adopted a broad definition for the meaning of the word "lesbian", which embraces all women whether they identify as lesbian, bi-sexual, transgendered, or any other possible combination thereof."


"'Normal Female Interest in Men Bonking':

Selections from The Terra Nostra Underground and Strange Bedfellows"

Edited and introduced by Shoshanna Green, Cynthia Jenkins and Henry Jenkins - an article on Slash fan fiction from Theorizing Fandom: Fans, Subculture, and Identity Cheryl Harris & Alison Alexander (Eds.).


On Our Backs Magazine

"the best of lesbian sex"


OUT.com

A full-featured online magazine that tries to cover all the bases. Somewhere between Entertainment and Time in its range of content with the edge given to the lite side.


Outright Radio

A group of gay radio producers from Santa Cruz and San Francisco offer "Series 2001: Five hour-long radio specials about our stories as gay, lesbian, bi and transgender folks." Listen in Real Audio


Outlines

International and National News, and local (Chicago area) news, Voices: Black Gays, links to other sites, Blacklines and more.

 

Plum Nelly: New Essays in Black Queer Studies (U. Iowa access only)

Volume 23, Issue 1 (Winter 2000) of Callaloo. Guest edited by Jennifer DeVere Brody and Dwight A. McBrid

 

QueerAmerica


"QueerAmerica is a database published by OutProud, The National Coalition for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Youth. With over 5,000 entries …"

QueerTheory.com

A portal/bibliography/artist registry/shopping network. Unique and valuable, and a very good use of the medium. "QueerTheory.com provides you with the best online resources integrated with the best visual and textual resources in Queer Culture, Queer Theory, Queer Studies, Gender Studies and related fields."

qvMagazine

"The Nation's Largest and Most Respected Gay Latino Magazine"

 

Spinsters Ink

"We are committed to publishing works by women writing from the periphery: fat women, Jewish women, lesbians, old women, poor women, rural women, women examining classism, women of color, women with disabilities, women who are writing books that help make the best in our lives more possible."

 

This Way Out

The International Gay and Lesbian Radio Magazine - Weekly streaming and downloadable audio in MP3 format - alternate link

 

Telling Pictures

"In 1987 Rob Epstein and Jeffrey Friedman set up an office in a former convent and Catholic girlsâ school in San Francisco and started Telling Pictures. Since then, they have produced four non-fiction feature films and numerous documentaries for television and corporate clients." Films include: Paragraph 175, The Celluloid Closet, and Common Threads: Stories From The Quilt, and others.

 

Women In the Life

This site bills itself as "your premiere lesbian portal" but it is much more than a mere gateway to other sites -- it is more like a full-service online magazine including an excellent roundup of news stories and clips.