Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Journals
Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Duke Journal of Gender Law & Policy is a scholarly journal.
Need help? Click here.
Off Campus Connect
Your Owl Card enables you to check out books and to access materials online through Off Campus Connect (EZ Proxy). Make sure to activate your Owl Card at the Service Desk.
Why would I use a database?
The World Wide Web can be useful for providing some types of information but often research using databases will provide better sources of information. Some sources in databases include law reviews, news magazines, specialized newspapers, and scholarly journals.
Databases to use when researching topics in Law and Gender:
Campus Research: Law
Westlaw's web-based legal research tool for undergraduate and graduate students who need to research law-related issues. This resource includes access to the complete laws and statutes of the federal government and all 50 states, federal regulations, precedent-setting court decisions, KeyCite, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, and current and archived articles from hundreds of leading law reviews and journals.
A good source for searching for articles from Law Reviews. This can also be used to find court cases. The database accesses over a billion full text news, magazine, legal, and business articles and reports. Also includes newspapers, magazines, state and federal laws and regulations, case law, newsletters, company and industry information.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, health care, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. This database includes pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary documents, biographies, periodical articles and more. Good source for students to start research or analysis of an issue.
Academic Search Complete
Large scholarly and multi-disciplinary full text database. This collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including medical sciences, computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, and many others.
A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, it is a repository of important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications and more.
New York Times
Provides coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions and presidential press conference transcripts.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.
Other Electronic Resources