Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Why would I use a database?
The World Wide Web can be useful for providing some types of information but often research using databases will provide better sources of information. Some sources in databases include trade journals, industry news sources, general business magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals.
Writing Your Paper & Citing References
Correctly citing information found in databases can present problems. Use the examples provided in the following resource as a guide.
ABI/INFORM Collection (Global, Archive, Dateline, Trade & Industry)
Includes details on virtually every aspect of Hospitality Industry, including company and industry news, reports on trends and finances, and new property developments.
Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection
With current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field.
Business Insights: Essentials
Excellent resource for finding company profiles, industry information, rankings, company histories, and journal articles.
IBISWorld is a comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. Reports consist of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants, and more.
Culinary Arts (Gale OneFile)
This collection is made up of more than 300 major cooking and nutritional magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, reference resources, and industry information.
Offers access to 11,000 U.S. public companies and 17,000 non-U.S. public companies with past and present financial information. Find and compare detailed financial information for companies in hospitality and food service industries.
Standard & Poor's (S&P) NetAdvantage
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage provides nine of its most popular publications: Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, Register, Stock Guide, Bond Guide, Earnings Guide, The Outlook, and Dividend Record.
Off Campus Connect
Your Owl Card enables you to check out books and to access materials online through Off Campus Connect (EZ Proxy). Make sure to activate your Owl Card at the Service Desk.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.