Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

ENC 1101 PBSC: Find Articles

Panther Card

To use PBSC library services from off campus, use your Panther Card to log onto Panther Web.

When on the Panther Web page, select the link "Library" to access PBSC's databases.

For questions on the Panther Card, see its web page.

What is a database?

Databases (in a library use of the word) are collections of articles and other sources of scholarly information.  They can be searched by using keywords and often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.

Popular Periodicals versus
Scholarly Publications

Popular Publications versus Scholarly Journals
(3:30 Webcast) Learn about the main differences between popular publications (Time, Rolling Stone) and scholarly journals (Nature, American Journal of Physical Anthropology).

Recommended Databases

PBSC students can use the FAU Libraries' databases in the FAU library building and can also access PBSC's databases from home.  Log in using your Panther Card and PIN to search for articles and to use its databases.

Here are some databases that may help in your assignment:

Articles & Books

LINCCWEB Off Campus
This portal will allow you to search one or more of the online catalogs of Florida's 28 public community colleges, and search databases, journals, and other valuable resources funded by your college, the State Library of Florida, CCLA, and the Florida Legislature.

Reports & Background Info.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press) FAU Campus | Off Campus | Tutorial
Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports are produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) Off Campus
Provides a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) FAU Campus | Off Campus
Contains articles from nearly 4,500 journals in many areas of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Essay & General Literature Index FAU Campus | Off Campus
Indexes essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.

JSTOR FAU Campus | Off Campus | Tutorial
Provides an archive of full-text scholarly journals from Arts & Sciences I & II, Ecology & Botany, and General Science collections. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.

Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) Off Campus | Tutorial
Combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.

Newspaper Articles

Global Newsstream FAU Campus | Tutorial
Coverage of 5 major U.S.; newspapers, including The New York Times (1999 to date), Wall Street Journal (1984 to date), Washington Post (1987 to date), Los Angeles Times (1985 to date) and the Christian Science Monitor (1988 to date).

Florida's Newspapers (Newsbank) Off Campus
Search 39 newspaper sources within Florida, including the Palm Beach Post, South Florida Sun Sentinel, Miami Herald, Tampa Tribune, Boca Raton News, and others.

LexisNexis Academic (LexisNexis) FAU CampusOff Campus | Tutorial
Full text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Medical & health; federal, state & international legal materials; corporate news & financial information, and more.