Skip to main content

AERA Outstanding Dissertations: Division L

Division L

Division L stimulates informed and systematic analysis, research, evaluation, and debate about the education policy, including political, economic, legal, and fiscal issues. The purpose of Division L is to provide a national forum for the dissemination and discussion of research that advances understanding of how established policy effects educational organizations, the students and educators they serve and the societies in which they exist, and how policy is formulated, enacted and implemented.

Division L Outstanding Dissertations

2017

                                                 Graduate School of Education; Policy, Organization, Measurement & Evaluation;
Inequity and Privatization in School District Facilities Financing: A Mixed Methods Study


by Marialena Dawn Rivera
Institution: University of California, Berkeley
Full-Text

                                                 Local Control as Resistance: Policy and Practice of Autonomous School Boards


by Daniella Hall
Institution: Pennsylvania State University
Full-Text

2016

                                                 How Classroom Context Impacts the Academic Achievement of English Learners in a
New Immigrant Destination


by Daniela Torre
Institution: Vanderbilt University
Full-Text

2015

                                                 The Rising Tide: Choice and Competition in Post-Katrina New Orleans Schools


by Huriya Jabbar
Institution: University of California, Berkeley
Full-Text

2014

                                                 Small High Schools and Big Inequalities: Course-taking and Curricular Rigor in
New York City


by Miya T. Warner
Institution: Columbia University
Full-Text

2013

                                                 An Event History Analysis Examining the Rate of Reclassification for English
Language Learners


by Madeline Emily Clark Mavrogodradto
Institution: Vanderbilt University
Full-Text

2012

                                                 Negotiating Disparate Social Contexts: Evidence from an Interdistrict School
Desegregation Program


by Kendra Bischoff
Institution: Stanford University
Full-Text

2011

                                                 The Content of Instruction Under Standards-Based Reform


by Morgan S. Polikoff
Institution: University of Pennsylvania
Full-Text

2010

                                                 Accountability and Inequality in American Education


by Jennifer L. Jennings
Institution: Columbia University
Full-Text

2009

                                                 Using a Yardstick to Measure a Meter: Growth, Projection, and Value-Added Models
in the Context of School Accountability


by Michael Joseph Weiss
Institution: University of Pennsylvania
Full-Text

2008

                                                 Where to Teach? Developing a More Comprehensive Framework to Understand
Teachers' Career Decisions


by Marisa Cannata
Institution: Michigan State University
Full-Text

                                                 Three Essays on Teacher Quality and Educational Production


by Cory Robert Koedel
Institution: University of California, San Diego
Full-Text

2007

                                                 Dissent from Within: How Educational Insiders Use Protest to Change their Institution


by Frank D. Grossman
Institution: Columbia University
Full-Text

2006

                                                 No Award Given






2005

                                                 Parents' Views of School Choice: An Unexamined Perspective


by Courtney Ann Bell
Institution: Michigan State University
Full-Text

2004

                                                 The Education Production Function: An Analysis of the Relationship Between Fiscal
Resource Variables and Student Achievement Across Louisiana School Districts


by Rebecca Sue Watts
Institution: University of Louisiana at Monroe
Full-Text

2003

                                                 Democratic Dilemmas: Joint Work, Education Politics, and Community


by Julie Ann Marsh
Institution: Stanford University
Full-Text

2002

                                                 Making Sense of Reading: Logics of Reading in the Institutional Environment and
the Classroom


by Cynthia Ellen Coburn
Institution: Stanford University
Full-Text

                                                 Political Dispositions and Education Finance Equity: An Analysis of Court Decisions
Across the United States


by Karen Kimberly
Institution: University of Chicago
Full-Text