Skip to main content

AERA Outstanding Dissertations: Division K

Dvision K

Division K focuses on social justice and the education of marginalized youth. It engages with teachers' voices and experiences, which also entails being open to non-traditional forms of research. The division uses those voices and that research to join actively and forcefully in the public conversation about teachers and teaching. The goal of is to open up this division to ground-breaking work that informs the teaching profession, reshapes the field, and also prompts us to action.

Dvision K Outstanding Dissertations

2017

                                                 Mentoring Preservice Teachers in Disciplinary Literacies: A Model of Content Area
Literacy Instruction


by Steven H. Kushner
Institution: University of Illinois at Chicago
Full-Text

2016

                                                 Teacher Education Reform as Political Theater: Modernization Dramas in the
Russian Federation


by Olena Aydarova
Institution: Arizona State University
Full-Text

2015

                                                 The Pedagogy of Teacher Activism: Four Portraits of Becoming and Being
Teacher Activists


by Keith C. Catone
Institution: Harvard Graduate School of Education
Full-Text

                                                 Story as an Organizing and Inquiry Tool for Educational Partnerships Committed to
Social Justice, School, and Community Change


by Mark Kohan
Institution: University of Cincinnati
Full-Text

2014

                                                 No Award Given






2013

                                                 English, Disciplined: Learning to Teach in Urban Classrooms


by Lauren Gatti
Institution: University of Wisconsin - Madison
Full-Text

2012

                                                 Understanding How Secondary Science Teacher Candidates Learn to Teach: Analyzing
the Role of Knowledge, Practice, and Professional Identity


by Hosun Kang
Institution: Michigan State University
Full-Text

                                                 Factors that Foster Latina, English Language Learner, Non-Traditional Student
Resilience in Higher Education and their Persistence in Teacher Education


by Amanda Morales
Institution: Kansas State University
Full-Text

2011

                                                 The Essence of the Virtual School Practicum: A Phenomenological Study of
Pre-Service Teachers' Experiences in a Virtual School


by Kathryn Mary Kennedy
Institution: University of Florida
Full-Text

2010

                                                 Fostering Solidarity and Transforming Identities: A Collaborative Approach to
Elementary Science Education


by Christina A. Siry
Institution: City University of New York
Full-Text

2009

                                                 Pedagogical Content Knowledge for Preschool Mathematics: Relationships to
Teaching Practices and Child Outcomes


by Jennifer S. McCray
Institution: Loyola University Chicago
Full-Text

2008

                                                 Teaching elementary writing: Teachers' Practices and Beliefs in the New
England States


by Deborah Ann Horan
Institution: Boston College
Full-Text

2007

                                                 How Urban Youth Express Critical Agency in a 9th Grade Conceptual Physics Classroom


by Sreyashi Jhumki Basu
Institution: Columbia University
Full-Text

2006

                                                 A Window on the Discipline Gap: Defiance or Cooperation in the High School
Classroom


by Anne Gregory
Institution: University of California, Berkeley
Full-Text

2005

                                                 The Integration of Social Justice: Reshaping Teacher Education


by Morva Ann McDonald
Institution: Stanford University
Full-Text

2004

                                                 No Award Given






2003

                                                 Learning on the Job: Mathematics Teachers' Professional Development in the Contexts
of High School Reform


by Ilana Seidel Horn
Institution: University of California, Berkeley
Full-Text

2002

                                                 A Case Study of the Beliefs and Practices of Three White Teachers of Black Children:
Does Race Matter?


by Patricia Mary Cooper
Institution: Emory University
Full-Text

2001

                                                 Bilingual Teachers-in-the-Making: Advocates, Classroom Teachers, and Transients


by Manka Mary Varghese
Institution: University of Pennsylvania
Full-Text