Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

AERA Outstanding Dissertations: Division J

Division J

Division J serves as an international forum for policymakers, faculty, graduate students, and other researchers to promote and advance research, policy, and practice in all areas of postsecondary education.

Division J Outstanding Disseratations

2017

                                                 Being and Becoming Professionally Other: Understanding how Organizations Shape
Trans* Academics' Experiences


by Erich N. Pitcher
Institution: Michigan State University
Full-Text

2016

                                                 Monsters and Weapons: Navajo Students' Stories on their Journeys toward College


by Amanda R. Tachine
Institution: University of Arizona
Full-Text

2015

                                                 Aloha as Fearlessness: Lessons From the Mo‘olelo of Eight Native Hawaiian Female
Educational Leaders on Transforming the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Into a ...


by Kaiwipunikauikawekiu K. Lipe
Institution: University of Hawaii at Manoa
Full-Text

2014

                                                 The Historical Legacy of a Secret Society at Duke University (1913-1971): Cultural
Hegemony and the Tenacious Ideals of the "Big Man on Campus"


by Krispin Wagoner Barr
Institution: North Carolina State University
Full-Text

2013

                                                 "I have the power to change this": College Women’s Agency and Sexual Assault


by Lauren Germain
Institution: University of Virginia
Full-Text

2012

                                                 No Award Given






2011

                                                 A Grounded Theory of Adult Student Persistence


by Rosemary Capps
Institution: University of Utah
Full-Text


2010

                                                 Venturing Toward Better Teaching: S.T.E.M. Professors' Efforts to Improve their
Introductory Undergraduate Pedagogy at Major Research Universities


by Julie Anne Schell
Institution: Teachers College, Columbia University
Full-Text

2009

                                                 Placing Engagement: Critical Readings of Interaction Between Regional Communities
and Comprehensive Universities


by Tami Lea Moore
Institution: Washington State University
Full-Text

2008

                                                 From Democracy to Diversity: The Politics of American Higher Education in the
Twentieth Century


by Christopher Perry Loss
Institution: University of Virginia
Full-Text

2007

                                                 The Meanings College Men Make of Masculinities and Contextual Influences on
Behaviors, Outcomes, and Gendered Environmental Norms: A Grounded Theory Study


by Frank Harris III
Institution: University of Southern California
Full-Text

2006

                                                 Peer-Mentoring Relationships: Toward a Non-Hierarchical Mentoring Approach for
Women Faculty


by Riva Sherry Kadar
Institution: Teachers College, Columbia University
Full-Text

2005

                                                 No Award Given






2004

                                                 Nonsectarian, Not Secular: Students' Curricular and Co-Curricular Experience with
Christian Faith at Brown University, the University of Michigan, and ...


by Jeffrey P. Bouman
Institution: University of Michigan
Full-Text

                                                 The Buck stops Where? A Theory-Based Analysis on the Rise of Campus-Initiated
Tuition Increases and their Effects on the University of North Carolina


by Michael S. Harris
Institution: University of Pennsylvania
Full-Text