Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

AERA Outstanding Dissertations: Division D

Division D

Division D focuses on educational measurement, psychometrics, and assessment; quantitative methods and statistical theory as applied to educational research; and qualitative and evaluation methods as applied to educational research.

Division D Outstanding Dissertations

2017

                                                 No Award Given






2016

                                                 Small-Sample Calibration of Measurement Scales: Things Need to be Done


by: Yang Liu
Institution: University of California, Merced
Full-Text

2015

                                                 No Award Given






2014

                                                 Operationally Comparable Effect Sizes for Meta-Analysis of Single-Case Research


by: James E. Pustejovsky
Institution: Northwestern University
Full-Text

2013

                                                 Evaluating the Equal-Interval Hypothesis with Test Score Scales


by: Ben Dominique
Institution: University of Colorado at Boulder
Full-Text

2012

                                                 Composite Likelihood Approach for Factor Analyzing Ordinal Data


by: Nuo Xi
Institution: Ohio State University
Full-Text

2011

                                                 Loglinear Models as Item Response Models


by: Zhushan Li
Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Full-Text

2010

                                                 Pratt's Importance Measures in Factor Analysis: A New Technique for Interpreting
Oblique Factor Models


by: Amery Dai Ling Wu
Institution: University of British Columbia (Vancouver)
Full-Text

2009

                                                 A Metropolis-Hastings Robbins-Monro Algorithm for Maximum Likelihood Nonlinear
Latent Structure Analysis with a Comprehensive Measurement Model


by: Li Cai
Institution: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Full-Text

2008

                                                 Multilevel Latent Markov Models for Nested Longitudinal Discrete Data


by: Hsiu-Ting Yu
Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Full-Text

2007

                                                 Comparing Score Trends on High-Stakes and Low-Stakes Tests Using Metric-Free
Statistics and Multidimensional Item Response Models


by: Andrew Dean Ho
Institution: Stanford University
Full-Text

2006

                                                 A Polytomous Extension of the Fusion Model and its Bayesian Parameter Estimation


by: Jianbin Fu
Institution: The University of Wisconsin - Madison
Full-Text

2005

                                                 Causal Inference for Multi-Level Observational Data with Application to
Kindergarten Retention


by: Guanglei Hong
Institution: University of Michigan
Full-Text

                                                 Turning a Blind Eye to Racism no More: Naming Racism and Whiteness with
Pre-Service Teachers


by: Sheryl Ann Marx
Institution: University of Texas at Austin
Full-Text

2004

                                                 SAT Coaching, Bias and Causal Inference


by: Derek Christian Briggs
Institution: University of California, Berkeley
Full-Text

                                                 Parallel Lives, Parallel Literacies: A Reflexive Life-History of an Adult Emerging
Reader and His Teacher Researcher


by: Andrew R. Ratner
Institution: Teachers College, Columbia University
Full-Text

2003

                                                 No Award Given






2002

                                                 A Unifying Framework for the Analysis of Continuous and Discontinuous Change


by: Jee-Seon Kim
Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Full-Text

                                                 Transforming Power in Rural Communities: Possibilities for an Energy Literacy


by: Wendy Milne
Institution: University of Guelph (Canada)
Full-Text

                                                 Knowledge Claims and Ethical Commitments: Toward a Moral Epistemology for
Critical Ethnography in Education


by: Michael Gerard Gunzenhauser
Institution: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Full-Text

2001

                                                 Evaluating Small Sample Approaches for Model Test Statistics in Structural
Equation Modeling


by: Jonathan Nevitt
Institution: University of Maryland College Park
Full-Text

                                                 A Call to Conscience: Problematizing Educational Inclusion


by: Micheline Stabile
Institution: University of Pittsburgh
Full-Text

2000

                                                 Scoring Performance Assessments Based on Judgements: Utilizing Meta-Analysis to
Estimate Variance Components in Generalizability Theory for Unbalanced Situations


by: Christopher Wing-Tat Chiu
Institution: Michigan State University
Full-Text