Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

AERA Outstanding Dissertations: Division B

Dvision B

Division B is a diverse and eclectic group of scholars who raises questions, studies issues and explores possibilities related to curriculum--the official and unofficial bodies of knowledge taught and learned, or not. They are historians, critical social and cultural theorists, pedagogues, researchers, philosophers, teachers, teacher educators, artists, advocates, activists, thinkers, believers, intellectuals, learners, but above all else they are curriculum workers--intergenerational, complex, and growing into inclusivity.

Division B Outstanding Dissertations

2017

                                                 We Teach Life: Exile, Hip Hop and the Radical Tradition of Palestinian Cultural
Resistance


by: Chandni Desai
Institution: University of Toronto (Canada)
Full-Text

2016

                                                 No Award Given






2015

                                                 Wrestling with the Angels of Ambiguity: Scholarship in the In-Between: Queer
Theology / Performative Autoethnography


by: Kerri Mesner
Institution: University of British Columbia
Full-Text

2014

                                                 Hànwén and Taiwanese Subjectivities: A Genealogy of Language Policies in
Taiwan, 1895–1945


by: Hsuan-Yi Huang
Institution: Michigan State University
Full-Text

                                                 Knowledges Sacred and Profane: Power and Politics in Recontextualizing Critical
Thinking in Singapore


by: Leonel Tze-Wei Lim
Institution: University of Wisconsin-Madison
Full-Text

2013

                                                 Constructing and Negotiating Identities-in-Practice: Multiple Identities, the Enacted
curriculum, and the Figured World of Achievement in a Middle School ...


by: Limarys Caraballo
Institution: Teachers College, Columbia University
Full-Text


2012

                                                 Social Justice Pedagogy with the Suburban and Urban Elite


by: Katy Swalwell
Institution: University of Wisconsin - Madison
Full-Text

2011

                                                 Teaching Like Our Lives Depend On It: Critical Pedagogy and Action Research


by: Patrick Camangian
Institution: University of California, Los Angeles
Full-Text

2010

                                                 (In)Justice for All?: Brooklyn Youth and the Question of Social Justice


by: Debbie J. Sonu
Institution: Teachers College, Columbia University
Full-Text

2009

                                                 The Life and Work of the Philadelphia Black Panthers: The Curricular and
Pedagogical Implications of their Social Transformation Efforts


by: Omari Dyson
Institution: Purdue University
Full-Text

2008

                                                 Greening Our Future: The Practices of Ecologically Minded Teachers


by: Christy M. Moroye
Institution: University of Denver
Full-Text

2007

                                                 Greening Our Future: The Practices of Ecologically Minded Teachers


by: Gurjit Sandhu
Institution: Queen's University (Canada)
Full-Text

2006 & 2005

                                                 Voices in the Silence: Narratives of Disadvantage, Social Context and School
Mathematics in Post-Apartheid South Africa


by: Dalene Swanson
Institution: University of British Columbia
Full-Text

2004

                                                 Radical Hybrid Literacy Practices of One Teacher in a Classroom of Learners of
Second Languages


by: Tricia Gallagher-Geurtsen
Institution: Columbia University Teachers College
Full-Text

2003

                                                 Education as Practices of Freedom: Critical Literacy in a 5th Grade Classroom


by: James S. Damico
Institution: Michigan State University
Full-Text